We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, helpful friendly staff, gorgeous accommodation and delicious food - excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, helpful friendly staff, gorgeous accommodation and delicious food - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked a holiday through travelzoo.com and a two night stay at Knysna Hollow was part of the deal. We couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived...it is such a beautiful place with little thatched 'cottage' type chalets...the food and service were excellent and the bedrooms were spacious, clean and comfortable as well as charming. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I will pass your very positive comments on to the whole team here at Knysna Hollow and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the near future. With warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    127
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation in the thatched roofed cottage room. Reception staff [Cheryl] was most pleasant and helpful. Made you feel as if you were family. Dinner in the dining room was fabulous, a good choice of food and expertly prepared. Breakfast buffet was excellent and more than ample. The wait staff in both areas were most pleasant and efficient. Cheryl and staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and provided an additional heater as the weather was a bit chilly. We felt that there was good value staying here, and while on the outskirts of Knysna, it only was a few minutes into the downtown and not far from the various attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review - we are all very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and that our staff took such good care of you. We really appreciate the time taken to write your review and sincerely hope that we may be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With very best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the cottages, really lovely. Reception staff were great. Nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner there as well. Lovely food. friendly staff. An all-round good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - with thanks from Clive and the team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights to start Garden route part of SA tour. Good accommodation and convenient for visit to Knysna. Would recommmend for relaxing time. Stayed in cottage around swiming pool area (too cold for swim though). Did notice a funny damp smell in room (as did others in party), which may be due to ceiling construction. Quality of food and sevice very high. Had problem with remote for TV, but staff very amenable to sort out. No safe in room though but reception offered very good safe service.

Room Tip: Despite funny smell, would still recommend the cottages arounf swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback posted in your review of Knysna Hollow. We do appreciate the time taken to provide us with this very valuable information. In regard to the smell mentioned in your cottage, we have been busy over the past 2months replacing some of the old thatched roofs with new grass and this may be the cause - our sincere apologies for this. Thank you once again from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages at the hotel, and found the accommodation to be very comfortable. The cottage was clean and very spacious for our needs. Even though it was cold at night the staff were by helpful in getting a fire started in our room and the heaters were more than enough to take the chill of the room. The staff were also very helpful with suggestions on our daily itinerary. The breakfast were good, with a big selection for all tastes. The location is good, as it is right next to the main N2 highway, so easy access to location east and west.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - it is always tremendously gratifying for myself and my team to hear from guests who enjoy their time with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of them. Thanks again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow sometime soon. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Knysna Hollow. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fireplace that helps on those cold nights, delicious breakfast... I can go on and on. The only problem with my stay is that I could only stay one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Fantastic review, thanks ever so much and we are super-excited that you enjoyed your time with us here at Knysna Hollow. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, if a little cold. We had ajoining rooms which was great for our teenage son. Dinner was excellent with wonderful service. Sadly, the amazing service at dinner didn't extend to breakfast where the staff were morose to say the least!. Reception staff really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay again but would skip breakfast!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments about you recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. While we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your time at Knysna Hollow, the service you experienced at Breakfast is not the norm and we will do our utmost to address this issue - thank you for bringing this to our attention. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.