We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
North Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Knysna Hollow on a tour of the Garden Route. This is a very pretty hotel, with guests staying in thatched lodges around the gardens.

We had 2 of the lodges and the aroma in each of them was quite pungent on entering. This is to do with the thatch (and not, as one other reviewed mentioned, a sewage smell). Quite quickly, you get used to this and the reward is a stunning facility, with an amazing high thatched ceiling accompanied by a high quality en-suite bathroom.

The pool is very nice, with sun-loungers on the garden around it. A few more loungers would be nice, as the hotel attracts Germans as well, so the “beach towel on the lounger reservation race” is a bit of fun to watch whilst having breakfast.

The food is very good although the hotel does attract coach parties. If you are unlucky, as we were, to have one in the restaurant whilst you are eating, be prepared for a wait. The staff deal with the large groups first and we had a 45 minute wait between courses. Shame, because the food was really high quality.

The location is excellent, just outside the commercial centre of Knysna and within easy reach of the beaches and other attractions. The staff were very helpful (except the restaurant management – see above) and I would recommend this for a short stay in Knysna.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and facilities
  • Disliked — Being 2nd class in the restaurant to coach parties and the aroma in the rooms (until you get used to it)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    144
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
59
152
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed at this hotel after seeing the wine region of SA. Upon first arrival at this hotel its very nice and clean. We were given chalet 11, which was nice and big. No bath but dbl shower. Upon waking up after our first nights sleep we found the room covered in bugs and dead things every where. We spoke to the reception who sent someone with fly spray. We went and spoke to the reception desk and they then moved us to chalet 13. Same style of room and bug free.

The maids for the room dont spend long cleaning at all, we were outside on the pool area and saw them spent less then 10 mins cleaning it. Even forget to take out the last people who stayed there guest comment cards. Also we sent out cleaning off and it came back damp!! Had to leave our heaters on to get it dry.

As people have said before, the hotel is a great stop of place and you get a lot of coaches coming and going at all hours of the day and night.

Now to the best bit: The service off the front desk staff and the waiting staff is excellent. Nothing was or did not appear to be too much trouble for them. We ate in the Ala Carte for the first two nights and the food was very good, wine excellent and the whole experience made you feel welcome. The bar area is bright and welcoming, only thing i did not like is the fact that Sky sports was on during pre dinner drinks. A little thing but i did not like it.

All in all, its a lovely place and if it was not for house keeping it would off been a little gem but i think we all like to know were sleeping in a clean room.

But go, you wont be upset u did.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — House keeping
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Its a shame because outwardly it looked ok, the first room stank so badly of sewage that we changed, the second was better but still not great, The fixtures and fittings had seen better days, the rooms were freezing (to be fair it was cold and damp) The bathrooms were just plain odd, 2 ended showers yet nowhere to put a toothbrush, We had booked 2 nights but checked out after one night despite loosing our prepaid room. And the staff simply didnt seem to care. - Personal View - One to avoid

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Smell of Sewage
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

We stayed in Knysna Hollow during a trip on the Garden route and it was the best accomadation we had. The place is lovely, in a quite area away (but not far) from the town, and the staff very kind. The chalets are cute, with nice/huge and clean bathrooms.
The restaurant is also to be recommended : good food and nice wine list.

  • Liked — the confort
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a self organised tour along the garden route and have to say that it was the nicest place we stayed in. We had a thatched cottage right by a great pool and next door to the restaurant, so it was well placed for us as we had 2 young children. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive - breakfast buffet was great - my son ate 5 croissants one morning and it was no hassle, they just kept topping him up :o) Coach parties were fine for us, didn't disturb us at all. Felt that we were amongst the youngest people there which was a bit odd, but didn't notice any disapproving looks at the children. Overall, a relaxing break from the travel with good clean faciltiies, great pool and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Groups of thatched cottages/lodges around pools. Very airy, clean, spacious rooms. Peaceful and relaxing. Grounds well maintained - some noise from water pumps or irrigation system, but this was turned off when requested at night
Two eating places - good quality restaurant and buffet/grill style. Both offer high quality food. Breakfast good choice from standard buffet style juices/fruits/cereals etc, hot dishes and eggs cooked on demand
Staff well trained, friendly. They even managed to keep a straight face when an American woman, after many questions about ducks, asked "and which species of duck does the Hippopotamus eat ?" !!
There is currently a traffic problem around Knysna because of repair work following heavy rain and land subsidence along the coast road, so journey times need extra time allowance, but once you are there, Knysna Hollow is an excellent place to chill out as well as being convenient for accessing local attractions such as Featherbed Nature Reserve

  • Liked — Grouping of cottages around pools
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We drove down from Cape Town to Knysna on arrival saw two or three coaches in the car park so could tell it was a tour stopping off point.

The reception staff were very friendly as were all the staff during our stay.

The hotel setting was beautiful and we had a lovely room in a thatched building just yards away from the main restaurants. The room was lovely and large and decorated very authentically.

Dinner in the a la carte was OK but no more than that - food was a little overcooked and although the service at our table was very good there were a few people complaining at the time they'd waited between courses. It was raining that night and the restaurant did seem to be at full capacity and this may have had something to do with it.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.