We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna Waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Lagoon

Knysna Lagoon
The coast of the city, Knysna, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Attractions in Knysna
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Knysna Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I went on the mv John Ben for a 1.5 hour cruise and it was very rough but very nice
I recommend Cafe Mario on the Waterfront (very nice)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    61
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking .........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Knysna is one of the most beautiful places to visit in The Cape .... unspoiled views , crafts , ...... heaven on earth....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Birdwatching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If birdwatching is an important hobby for you, this spot can provide several bird species of shorebirds or marsh birds that you might not see otherwise. Although there are many locations to see things like the Sacred Ibid, this is a very good place to find them.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A catamaran ride across the lagoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Featherbed Sea Tours [or something like that, I think] provided us with a wonderful sail from the harbour in Knysna to the lagoon entrance. The Indian Ocean was too rough to allow us to exit the lagoon, but as we got closer, the swell increased, and we were glad not to leave the safety of the lagoon. The views of the surrounding areas and hills with their fantastic houses was a real experience. The captain and crew were excellent and very knowledgeable, providing us with a commentary about what we could see. Drinks could be purchased on board.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Knysna Lagoon is a beautiful and relaxing place. Take out some time to walk around here. The harbour compliments the overall beauty. Believe it or not, the place is very cal and surreal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knysna Lagoon also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Knysna Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.