We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Pleasant Living

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Pleasant Living to your Saves list
Lake Pleasant Living
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   N2 between Knysna & Sedgefield, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What an amazing place! We stayed for 1 night only just to get away from it all and what a discovery! So serenely beautiful and quiet, you would never say you are 200 m away from the highway. The rooms are massive. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a huge king size bed and 1 1/2 bathrooms on the edge of the lake. The whole feel of the place was old world glamour and luxury with lots of historical photos. A wonderful find in the Garden Route and we'll surely be back. The Bistro's food was good, but not exceptional, but as for the rest.. amazing!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing and good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience at Lake Pleasant Living. We are equally pleased to hear that you will be returning and look forward to being your host once again.

Kind regards

The LPL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a really nice hotel.

The rooms are huge and extra spacious, the furniture is in keeping with the 5 stars awarded to this hotel and the location is perfect.

The hotel restaurant has a limited but varied menu that is complimented by a specials board that changes every day.

The hotel spa was the only part of the property that although very nice did not live up to the 5 star grading but guests have free use of it so no cause to complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you would like to return. We also thank you for your comments, contents of which have been noted. We must however just mention that our five star rating if for Self Catering, albeit we offer a B&B rate. We therefore offer more of a Bistro type menu and as mentioned supplement this with running a “Specials” menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

After driving 4 hours from Stellenbosch, it was a pleasure to arrive at Lake Pleasant. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated. The pool is absolutely gorgeous! We found the waitstaff at breakfast and dinner to be very friendly and efficient. The staff managing the checkin process were not as friendly, but it didn't take away from the overall experience.
It really is a great property to settle and explore the Knysna area. I highly recommend walking with the Knysna tree elephants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the effort to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and facilities we offer. We agree that our property is very centrally situated in order to explore all the offering along the Garden Route. We value your comments and use these to ensure our standards are maintained to the levels we set ourselves. We look forward to hosting you again, should you be visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay here started badly and although the manager tried to help it really didn't improve. The staff cannot cope with large coach parties and private guests. They do not seem able to manage the situation so the stay works for both. We arrived to chaos and the first greeting from a porter was "You cannot park here!" His second comment was to the effect "you have to move, the coaches need to turn there." It was our 3rd attempt to explain we were guests arriving before we got any real help or response. The suite was next to the Spa and there was a strong smell of chlorine. When I queried this I was told "you won't be able to smell it with the doors closed." The appartment was large but not well looked after, equipped or cleaned. There was icecream on the outside of the freezer drawers, mould in the main bathroom and dead flies, spiders webs and dust around the patio doors in the conservatory. There was one large knife for cutting. The soap dispenser in the ensuite contained hand cream and vice versa.The welcome pack was not in our name! We went into the dining room for dinner before the large group, We still had to wait 40 mins from ordering for 2 Ceasar Salads. The group were milling all around us. NOt a peaceful meal. We left as soon as was feasible but attracting a waiter to get our bill was difficult and then the machine did not work. Our 2nd experience on the last night was worse. 3 couples (we were the second) 50 mins wait and no waiters when we arrived. The food was cold. I did speak to the General Manager who was very apologetic and promised to sort out the cleaning but at that stage I had not discovered half the issues. The Cleaning Supervisor came to apologise with a bottle of wine, Very nice but this does not minimise the issue. The situation for this property is very pleasant but very inconvenient unless you just want to walk and that depends on the weather. You have to travel to restaurants so you would expect a good Bistro with a larger menu. Like JRKKent we did not appreciate the lack of staffing (in the restaurant, or on reception) or the wait for someone to respond to let us in or out the gate (5 mins on 1 occasion).The breakfast menu was good but again there was a long wait for cooked food and it was just warm. I do wonder where the kitchen is as the waiter appears through the main entrance to the bar/restaurant. On the final lnight flickerig lights (main and sidelights) in the dining room and our suite drove us to distraction and a very early night. We did have a lovely conservatory and this could be a fantastic place but it needs to decide which market it wants, look at maintenence and cleaning and sort out the staffing issues and staff training.
The Internet is expensive and needs a router placed in the room. We needed several passwords. We were given this free as an apology for our discomfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We would like to thank JIV64 for taking the time to post her experience onto this site. We accept that it is impossible to please everyone all the time and thus these constructive criticisms of our property are as valuable as are the 80%+ positive reports.

As mentioned, issues were brought to our attention, which we immediately acted upon with the relevant parties attending to the concerns and issues presented to us.

We trust that the natural beauty of the property, the lake and the surrounding area, added to the enjoyment of their holiday in this beautiful country on ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during our recent tour of Sth Africa and, whilst I agree with much of what previous reviewers have said about this hotel. I have to say that it didn't really work for us. Yes, the hotel is beautifully located, our apartment was huge with gorgeous lake views and step-out access to the beautfifully manicured gardens. We'd been upgraded to a huge, two bedroom apartment but we had no use for the second bedroom or the self catering facilities. The second bathroom was handy to "raid" when we were left no face cloths for the second day. Also, in the primary bathroom one of the taps on the "His 'n Hers" wash basins didn't work, nor did one of the soap dispensers.

For us, these small elements of lack of attention to detail epitomised our stay. We didn't like having to use the gate phone every time we returned to the property , sometimes waiting a while for the phone to be answered. We didn't like the frequent lack of anyone attending reception (OK, someone came when you rang the bell but the impression is not the same). we found the service in the restaurant friendly, but not attentive - we often had to get up and find someone to get a second coffee.

We enjoyed a very tasty evening meal on our first night (again with friendly but lacklustre service) so we booked again for our last night to be warned that there would be a large group having a buffet meal in the dining room. We got the message and dined out. However, this large group was evident around the hotel and did nothing to enhance the hoped-for tranquility of our stay. As a matter of personal choice, I have to say that the strong aroma of curry pervading the dining room is not my ideal accompaniment to breakfast; no matter how pleasant the views from the balcony across the lake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
In response to the comments posted by the guest, we would like to extend our gratitude for taking the time to record your experiences. We also appreciate you completing the Guest Questionaire, noting some of the comments listed herein. By so doing, it affords us the opportunity to attend to those issues which required attention.

We consider the safety and security of our guests as paramount, thus the procedure of access into the property. We regret had there been a delay in accessing the property.

We should mention that we welcome guests from all corners of our globe and endeavour to cater for these culinary needs.

We sincerely hope that the guest enjoyed the location and nature of the property and it’s surrounds and will allow us to host them again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice location on the lake. Unfortunately some road noise can be disturbing. The rooms are large and have their own self catering facilities. Would recommend to drive to Wilderness for Dinner as there is no ocean view at this location. The Breakfast on the patio is very nice and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for submitting your experience at Lake Pleasant Living. We accept there is no sea view, but as you stated, the view of the lake from the Bistro is one of the finest along the Garden Route, whether you are having a meal or just taking in it's beauty. We trust you had a lovely holiday in our country and look forward to hosting you upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in room number 2 and I loved the decor and the room was so big with a hughes living, bedroom and lovely bathroom. Very clean and modern with a beautiful lake view
Fast Internet.
Food was very good, but the breakfast buffed could have been nicer with more varieties.
Great location, close to most of the fab. Attractions like white shark diving 1 hour drive, cave and the highest bungee jump.

Very friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for posting onto TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time in posting your experience with us and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate comments and use these in ensuring we keep our standards to that expected of a guest visiting us. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip along the Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Pleasant Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pleasant Living

Address: N2 between Knysna & Sedgefield, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Pleasant Living 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Garden Route, a panoramic region idyllically placed between the Indian Ocean & the Outeniqua & Tsitsikamma mountains, is home to Lake Pleasant Living Exclusive Holiday Suites in the Knysna district. This charming property, built on the edge of one of the few natural freshwater lakes in the southern hemisphere, is a serene retreat set in the picturesque Goukamma Nature & Marine Reserve. Welcome to Lake Pleasant Living where the discerning traveller will find superb facilities in tranquil surrounds. Enjoy Lake Pleasant as a holiday destination to stay or a lifestyle investment to buy. More than a hotel room, our spacious suites & villas are equipped with all the modern conveniences. Experience ‘lifestyle living’ & not merely just a room to overnight." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Lake Pleasant Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pleasant Living Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Pleasant Living, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.