We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small attraction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Featherbed Nature Reserve

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Knysna
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice small attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

After a cheesy train trip up the hill, you are rewarded with a fantastic view on the ocean and cliffs. Probably it will be even better earlier in the season when the flowers are blossoming. Nice small bar at the beach.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    106
    41
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

An excellent tour and worth the money !!

A return boat ride on the lagoon ,with commentary from knowledgeable guides then a ride up to the top of Western Head stopping at view points then the option to walk back down through fabulous scenery to the restaurant where an excellent meal was served.
The views are amazing the walk along the coastal path was fantastic.

Don't forget hat,sun screen and water and walking shoes !!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

South Africa's version of Poole Harbour, very scenic with luxury houses on the distant hillside.

This was once a port but the Heads made it too hazardous for shipping.

Our guide Oliver, was a typical English lad from my own district of Waltham Forest.

He introduced some interesting stories and wit to the tour. Excellent ferry and guided tour. Wonderful views of the sea, interesting rock formations and rare plants.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very disappointing, spent R 370.00 per person and had a pleasant ferry ride across the lagoon. A drive to the top of the Heads was also good. Then came the disappointment! The tour guides gave no commentary during the entire 2.2 km walk back to the restaurant. When I asked the guide(Inness) why there was no commentary (As we experienced on previous visits ) she replied that if asked she would give the stories/fables etc. how would any visitor know what stories to ask??? The whole walk was thus without any meaning and we had to tell the stories/ fables to our adult children we had with us. The guides really did the featherbed company and Mr Smith a great disservice

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear 413 Dave

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. The reply has been delayed due to the fact that we were trying to investigate your comments.

Our darling Innes has been with us for almost 30 years and is personally responsible for the Pickled Fish dish on our buffet, and is not a guide. Furthermore the rate you are referring to is also not in our system so we would sincerely like to discuss your comments with you for further investigation.

Please kindly contact us on 044-382 1693 or email us at sales@featherbed.co.za.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A different view of Knysna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The boat ride from the Knysna Waterfront was exciting with guides on board who had good knowledge of Knysna and presented it in a humorous manner. This was followed by a ride up the hill on Featherbed Reserve. From there we had a magnificent view of the Knysna Heads, Knysna's Thyssen and Leisure Islands. The relatively easy walk down down rewarded us with even better views followed by a really delicious lunch which was halaal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Featherbed Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.