We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Featherbed Nature Reserve

Featherbed Nature Reserve
58 CJ Langenhoven Street | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
0443821693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 attractions in Knysna
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brill day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excelent value for money, nice boat trip around half an hour each way, good walk down the hills, views to die for, lunch was excellent spoilt for choice!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    90
    31
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a great four hour trip out. Maybe we were fortunate in that it was sunny but not too hot as I think in the middle of summer it would have been quite uncomfortable. The food and service was excellent and plentiful and the guides very knowledgeable. Only problem that some people might have is that we were told at the start of the trail that some of the steps may be a bit steep and therefore people with mobility problems might not manage it, but it wasn't just the steps. My husband and I had to keep our eyes very firmly to the ground most of the way down and couldn't really just enjoy the scenery without stopping and then holding other members of the party up. There was an awful lot of loose rock, exposed roots etc and I didn't really feel safe until we had reached the level part at the bottom. All in all though, very enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“wow wow wow what an experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

it was amazing and fun fun fun!!!we took the John ben cruise...we enjoyed it very much, it was great...having to see the beautiful Knysna was just fantstic...oh and the guy driving was very nice and the one who was speaking was very funny and made our ride enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
1 review
“1 of the best things on my south african tour...food is over the top!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went on a tour so prices are included..check if you are traveling solo,guides were fun ,food was awesome ,lunch setting was amazingly beautiful...can't say enough how wonderful it is ...I'm going back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steynsrust, Free State, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“John Benn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was a lovely ride on the Knysna Lagoon. The food was great and the sites even better!! Staff were so friendly! Lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Featherbed Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Featherbed Nature Reserve to your Saves list