We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit and walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Featherbed Nature Reserve

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Knysna
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit and walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful to be able to walk and not sit on a coach. Very funny guide on ferry and wonderful views on walk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    106
    41
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ok day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The walk is great, not taxing and fab views of ocean and caves and rocks. Food was ok, meat tough but lots of choice. Probably takes a bit too long @ 4hrs in total. Guides enthusiastic and full of info, Felt a little bit of pressure to be tipping, which I don't like. We we're freeeeeezing crossing the ocean over and back so bring something warm.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Refreshing Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The walk down from the top gets tedious but the views of the lagoon from various vantage points is refreshing and finally the walk beside the lagoon is simply outstanding. Different but nice experience. :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Up close with nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Coming from Botswana where the landscape is still grey from the just ended winter the Western Cape provided the greenery to behold!
We took a ferry to the Nature Reserve with the best Tour Guides A lot of humour as we got to know the place's history and everything
My best view was of where the lagoon meets the ocean! Breathtaking! As we were up there seeing the ocean up close for the first time! Water as far as your eyes can see!
My wife and I had the best hike down to where a big feast was was waiting for us Thanks to everyone at the Featherbed for such a wonderful hospitality...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect mini-eco-tourism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well done -- guide, food, well marked walking trail, walking sticks for comfort on the trail. A joy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Featherbed Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.