We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under Milkwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Under Milkwood to your Saves list
Under Milkwood
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunset Beach, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice family break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a 4 night break after being at Botlierskop private game reserve. We really enjoyed the place, the location is excellent, just a short walk to east head cafe. The hillside chalet had excellent views and felt brand new, kitted out with a fantastic kitchen, top end cutlery etc. I really loved braaing in the evening and looking at the lagoon. The kids loved using the canoes on the lagoon. The staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    39
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We rented a hillside chalet and the views over the water are really lovely. It is a great way to enjoy a braai on the deck and see that lights of Knysna come on across the water.

The chalet was very well maintained and perfectly clean, with a lovely kitchen.

My only complaint is that you have to buy vouchers for the internet, and that the 30 free minutes is per chalet and not per device. The price of wifi is cheap but I think for this level of accommodation it should be included.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This trip was my Mom's gift for her 70th birthday, it couldn't have been a more perfect choice! She absolutely loved the setting, and says she will make sure she goes back for a longer stay - one of the loveliest places she's been to.
For my husband and I and our little 1 year old boy it was a peaceful place for us to genuinely relax and unwind. Cleanliness was 100%, location was super convenient yet away from the crowds. Amenities were top quality which added to our overall experience. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Tölz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lodges with perfect view to the lagoon, enough space to other lodges, excellent enviroment and huge space inside. Own acces to the beach.
The area is easy to reach and the price is absolutely fair for the given quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in a blockhouse called Curlew; had a great view of the lagoon. Other lodges layed below us, so nothing could disturb us.
There´s a great balcony overlooking the lagoon including a table, two sun loungers and a braai (barbecue).
Inside it´s divided into two areas, like a maisonette. Downstairs you´ll find the bathroom, upstairs the main area including an open kitchen, couch, tv etc.
Everything was clean and the stuff is very helpful.
We definitely recommend this accommodation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the waterfront chalets in November and loved our time in this unspoilt location. This has to be one of the best spots to stay in Knysna with the lagoon right on your doorstep. Very peaceful and nice to be out of the busy Town area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a wonderfull time at Under Milkwood and truely a piece of Paradise stuck away in the Knysna Heads. The villa is Beautiful and the staff really went out of their way to make us fell at home. the little things like a welcoming Bottle of wine, daily Firewood and on demand entertainment stood out as going the extra mile at Under Mlikwood. This is the perfect spot for a family break away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Under Milkwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Milkwood

Address: 13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Under Milkwood 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Under Milkwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under Milkwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.