We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna River Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna River Club to your Saves list
Knysna River Club
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Switzerland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
787 helpful votes 787 helpful votes
“Best Value ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been to the River Club a few times now and I must say unlike most other hotels, it is still as good as ever. Clean, fantastic location (try for the rooms on the waterfront), excelent service and generally simply GOOD value!
We'll certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
36
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed for one week in a 2-bedroom lodge with kitchen and living room. Felt very safe with friendly guards all around 24/7. Excellent base for exploring the area. Will def return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed in a Chalet of this hotel on a leisure trip. The chalet was very thoughtfully decorated. The room and bath were impeccably clean. Bed was very comfortable for a sound sleep after a hectic day. All requirements were met promptly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Every body in the hotel would wear a smile all the time. We felt very welcomed over there. The kitchenette had all utensils and gadgets that one needs on a holiday.
The lake was 2 minutes' walk. The walkways are well maintained. Only negative was the breakfast, it could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town - South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We would like to compliment the Management and Team of Knysna River Club, for making our stay such a wonderful experience. The rooms were spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, knowledge of knysna and advise on trips to do, were remarkable. The chalets had everything we needed to and made it a home from home experience. Self-catering suited us as we spent most of the day, either exploring the area or using the Knysna River Club's wonderful facilities (pool / sauna/ Jacuzzi/ table tennis and other) this kept our children entertained and happy. This is a resort that we will recommend to everyone, and we will be staying there again, soon !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westonaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Peaceful, stood outside on the deck watching the guinea fowsl walk past the chalets, staff was very friendly and the chalet was spotless.

Everything we needed was in the chalet and dinner at the Restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

My family and I have been going to the Knysna River Club for the past 4 years and each year it gets better. This year we stayed in Chalet number 3 which I think was the best chalet. It is very comfortable and just right for self catering. The views from the chalet were absolutely stunning. The early morning sunrises are a must see. Service was very good. The staff are very helpful and the daily cleaning service is a bonus. I can highly recommend the Knysna River Club and we will definitely go back again

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenRouteTourOper
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

05th September 2007
7 Guests from Mauritius plus the Tour Guide. Total of 4 Units.

Our guests were welcomed by the friendly staff at Knysna River Club. The rooms were comfortable and clean with wonderful views of the Knysna Estuary (our guests had lagoon facing units). Meals were enjoyed as the restaurant was aware of the special dietry requirements of the group. All in all a wonderful stay was had by all!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of the Knysna Lagoon, Knysna River Club is a private enclave of charming, luxury self-catering log chalets in the heart of South Africa's Garden Route coast. Surrounded by shady trees and well-tended gardens, the resort offers security, privacy and comfort for guests looking to unwind, and is the ideal venue from which to explore the quaint lagoon-side town of Knysna. Whether you want an active holiday or the chance to relax in the tranquil surrounds, we offer you a value for money accommodation, in a convenient location close to all amenities, the warm hospitality of our friendly staff, the comfort of our upgraded chalets and the opportunity to experience an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna River Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.