We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna River Club

Save Saved
You added Knysna River Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knysna River Club
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

On this our first visit to the Garden Route regeion of the beautiful Cape we came across a gem hidden between the trees on the river bank of this quaint town called Knysna. The Management and their staff are of the most friendly and helpfull we have come across on our four weeks spent in South Africa. To wake up with the lovely views over the tidal river and the so called "Heads" is a sight not easily forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 grown up daughters stayed in a 2 Bed Room, very well kept, Chalet 19-21 June. Its' right on the lagoon with view of famous Knysna Head. Grocery Store is walking distance. We arranged Bon Fire & Bar-be-Cue outside our Chalet. Knysna Water front is approx. 3 Kms.
"Boogie's Restaurant" ,run by Mr. Boogie, at Knysna River Club is not to be missed. Usually, breakfast there is included in tariff. They are closed for Lunch but drink at their bar "Shabeen" and dinner in their restaurant is an experience in itself. Boogie is very passionate about cooking and himself interacts with guests and is open to make food as per your choice.

Room Tip: rooms near the lagoon give very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Me and some friends, with our 3 toddlers stayed a few days at the Knysna River Club. We had a blast. The little log house we stayed in was equipped very well, very neat and cozy. A pool and games area was just behind us and every morning we walked to the lagoon with the kids - even took a canoe ride - staff extremely helpful and friendly. The cabin was cleaned every morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

What a romantic setting on the edge of the Knysna Lagoon.Boogie's Restaurant is a must to visit.The owner,Boogie was a excellent host.We will definately see you again.Kind regards,Morne and Marlize

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

When we arrived in this location we were very pleasantly surprised.
It was so peaceful & relaxing.
The breakfast in the Boggie resturant on the complex was excellant & the owner was very helpful.
We also ended up eating there on the 1st evening after popping in to introduce ourselves. It was very friendly & excellant food.
You also have to free use of a couple of double canoe's which was great fun.

Room Tip: We had lodge 8 second row back from the waterfront & it was great. The whole complex was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

As a tourist guide I have the priveledge to stay in many hotels, lodges and B&B"s. The Knysna river club is way up with the best. The location is great, chalets roomy and well laid out. there is more than enough activities to keep all ages busy. However they should reconsider their association with an on site restaurant named Boogies. We needed prepared breakfast packs as we were checking out at 7.00am before the restaurant would open at 7.30am. trying to contact the restaurant on the Sunday (closed) via mobile number provided by security was a nightmare as there were no response to urgent Mtn call backs or sms detailing the request. We left without any breakfast or even an apology. When restaurant was advised of being reviewed on Facebook and Tripadvisor, a reply was received threatening legal action. That confirms previous messages was recieved but it was ignored.

Room Tip: Choose units that faces the lagoon for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclear, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've won the Hooligans Hot Mamma competition and the prize was for 7 days at the Knysna River Club resort. We traveled almost 9 hours to get there and enjoyed every minute of it there! The reception was outstanding and all the employees that we had contact with was very friendly and room service was a BIG bonus! Good to go on holiday and not worry about washing up and cleaning... gives the feeling of a real relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna River Club is situated on the banks of the famous Knysna lagoon. Our water front chalets offer spectacular views of the lagoon and those in the garden are nestled between beautiful trees in the tranquil garden settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna River Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.