We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna River Club

Save Saved
You added Knysna River Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Knysna River Club
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

When we arrived in this location we were very pleasantly surprised.
It was so peaceful & relaxing.
The breakfast in the Boggie resturant on the complex was excellant & the owner was very helpful.
We also ended up eating there on the 1st evening after popping in to introduce ourselves. It was very friendly & excellant food.
You also have to free use of a couple of double canoe's which was great fun.

Room Tip: We had lodge 8 second row back from the waterfront & it was great. The whole complex was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

As a tourist guide I have the priveledge to stay in many hotels, lodges and B&B"s. The Knysna river club is way up with the best. The location is great, chalets roomy and well laid out. there is more than enough activities to keep all ages busy. However they should reconsider their association with an on site restaurant named Boogies. We needed prepared breakfast packs as we were checking out at 7.00am before the restaurant would open at 7.30am. trying to contact the restaurant on the Sunday (closed) via mobile number provided by security was a nightmare as there were no response to urgent Mtn call backs or sms detailing the request. We left without any breakfast or even an apology. When restaurant was advised of being reviewed on Facebook and Tripadvisor, a reply was received threatening legal action. That confirms previous messages was recieved but it was ignored.

Room Tip: Choose units that faces the lagoon for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclear, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've won the Hooligans Hot Mamma competition and the prize was for 7 days at the Knysna River Club resort. We traveled almost 9 hours to get there and enjoyed every minute of it there! The reception was outstanding and all the employees that we had contact with was very friendly and room service was a BIG bonus! Good to go on holiday and not worry about washing up and cleaning... gives the feeling of a real relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our stay at the Knysna River Club was exceptionally pleasant. The cabins were clean, neat and tidy. I felt safe at all times and slept like a baby! The rooms are a good size and the beds and bedding very comfortable. Woke up to a stunning view every morning! Beautiful large balcony facing onto the Knysna lake. The club grounds and gardens are very well maintained. Highly recommend the Knysna river Club for another Knysna stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kommadagga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Thanks so much for a lovely stay! We had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying the lovely view from our chalet! The accommodation was lovely and spacious, neat and clean. The service was great and the staff friendly! We will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

To stay at this resort, has been the best holiday ever and we have been to a few resorts. From the staff, to the amenities, to the cleanliness, everything was brilliant. And to top it off we got upgraded free of charge from a 1 bedroomed to a 2 bedroomed chalet facing the lagoon! We are returning in May for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Having just returned from our 4th time staying at The River Club, we had a really awesome time.We been visiting for the last 7 years. From a self catering point of view and recreation, we thoroughly enjoy the home away from home feel. The furniture, bath with shower, and technology in terms of appliances could perhaps use an upgrade after all these years. Especially the TV, we did notice lagoon facing cabins have plasma screens. Perhaps a coffee plunger would be great too. Overall the accommodation is comfortable, staff very friendly, well serviced and immaculately cleaned daily and best of all well priced for a 4 star graded establishment.
Thank you and we look forward to our return soon again.

Room Tip: Try and request a lagoon facing cabin, the view is a must see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knysna River Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna River Club

Also Known As:
Knysna River Club Hotel
Knysna River Club Hotel Knysna
Address: Sun Valley Drive | Costa Sarda, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna River Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna River Club is situated on the banks of the famous Knysna lagoon. Our water front chalets offer spectacular views of the lagoon and those in the garden are nestled between beautiful trees in the tranquil garden settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Knysna River Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna River Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.