We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were sad to be leaving such a wonderful place, but we`ll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headlands House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Headlands House to your Saves list
Headlands House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   50 Coney Glen Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We were sad to be leaving such a wonderful place, but we`ll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We reserved a beautifully maintained en-suite room at Headlands House for 3 nights, and then extended our stay further. The accommodation is immaculate. As hoteliers we have high standards especially when we are on holiday ourselves, and this Guest House did not disappoint - it was the best place we stayed at during a month long visit to South Africa.

The view from our room and balcony down to the sea was outstanding, as was the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff.

Breakfast was wonderfully presented and of an equally high standard and the dining room had the same magnificent view.

Parking at Headland House was plentiful.

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Headland House and it will certainly be the first place on our itinerary on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

we had the pleasure to stay in Coney Glen Suite which is the most beautiful room in Knysna offering great views of the atlantic and the lagoon. Breakfast was delicious, staff was very very friendly. This is an absolute highlight and we can recommend a stay without any constraint.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

While doing a tour of the South African coast we spent three nights in Knysna. My wife and I actually didn't intend on staying at the Headlands House (we didn't know about it, nor anything in Knysna really), and had booked a room at another location. When we arrived, said location was dirty, poorly kept, the staff was unfriendly, and generally depressing. I said "I'd rather sleep in the car than pay for this", and off we went in search of another place to stay.

We drove to a nicer area and tried to find something available. Though we looked at a number of places, the Headlands House was by far the nicest, and fortunately for us, they had a room! The staff was amazing - they called many restaurants to find reservations for us, made us feel at home, were helpful without being intrusive, did laundry without charging us, and were generally delightful. There's a small pool outside, a deck with a gorgeous view (the picture attached was taken with my phone from their deck), and the rooms were clean and beautiful.

I travel a lot both for work and tourism. Though I've stayed at some indulgent places, I've never been so impressed with the staff of a place that I've wanted to write a review. That changed with the Headlands House.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We were blown away by this place. We stayed in the Elephant room for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and wished we had stayed longer.

The room itself was not huge but more than comfortable for the two of us. That said the floor to ceiling views of "The Heads", with crashing waves below, made it feel like the room went on for ever. Even though the weather was not great for one of the days of our stay the incredible views made up for it.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. They gave useful advice on the local attractions and organised restaurant bookings for us as well as cooking a mean breakfast every morning.

Facilities were good - the pool is small but comes with those amazing views, each room comes with multichannel TV and tea/coffee facilities (including great biscuits!). There is also use of the commnunal living room and an honesty bar which all go to make you feel very much at home (albeit a very nice, luxurious, no housework required version of home). Some may grumble about the lack of air conditioning but we found the breeze from the Heads was more than enough to keep the room feeling fresh

Headlands House is a little bit out of town so restaurants etc are all a short drive away but if you are looking to get away from it all it is perfectly situated. That said it was only a 10minute drive in to Knsyna town centre and parking is easy and secure.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Liked — The views and the service
  • Disliked — The short drive to restaurants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands House

Address: 50 Coney Glen Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlands House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatic sea, lagoon and cliff views from every window. Uniquely situated on the highest point of the famous Knysna Heads, Headlands House offers breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Headlands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlands House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.