We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small hotel with every luxury you could wish for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falcons View Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Falcons View Manor to your Saves list
Falcons View Manor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Thesen Hill | Upper Central, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful small hotel with every luxury you could wish for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were delighted with Falcons View - one of the best of many excellent venues that we stayed in on the Garden Route. We had one of the garden rooms with views across the well-kept Falcons View garden, there were even monkeys in the trees! Breakfasts were excellent as was the restaurant in the evening; the room was spacious and we wanted for nothing and the staff and owner were utterly charming, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a really special historic house turned into a wonderful guesthouse. I still get goose bumps thinking about it because it oozes charm! Staff are amazing! They really give you luxury treatment. Breakfast and dinner are delicious and the rooms are uniquely beautiful as is the garden. I am certain that there is no better place to stay in Knysna!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

When we arrived at Falcons View we fell in love with it...the staff were so welcoming and made us feel at ease straight away, the room was bright, light and cool and a welcome beer on the Verandah overlooking Knysna was just what we needed after the 5 hour drive from Cape Town.
Dinners at the hotel are STUNNING and we regret not doing it every night...breakfasts were varied and just what you need to start the day off....

Staff were super friendly and so helpful nothing was too much trouble....and we loved meeting Bonnie... :-)

If you are going to Knysna, you have to stay at Falcons View Manor, or you really are missing out on a gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Falcons View and had a very relaxing time. It's a lovely little guesthouse with very nice comfortable rooms, helpful staff, great breakfasts, outstanding views over Knysna and a cosy lounge area. A great place from which to explore the Garden Route.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

The house is certainly in an excellent location looking over Knysna and the Theson Island development. We didn't really "click" with the style and atmosphere and for that reason alone I would not recommend it. Having said that, the staff are delightful and the breakfast was one of the best we had while touring SA. Dinner however was more hotel standard than restaurant. It's just a matter of personal preference and taste I think.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

we only stayed two nights but would have loved to stay longer - nice and peaceful in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

An excellent hotel, on a hill above Knysna. The staff are very efficient, attentive, and helpful. Our room was at the front of the house, enjoying stunning views of the lagoon. Both the bedroom and bathroom were well appointed, and i particularly enjoyed the 'proper' coffee for the cafetiere.
We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside for breakfast , which was excellent, enjoying the lovely patio area.
The swimming pool and gardens were well kept and a beautiful place to soak up some sun.
We ate in the hotel one night, and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — The views of the lagoon
  • Disliked — walk back up the hill
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcons View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons View Manor

Address: 2 Thesen Hill | Upper Central, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Falcons View Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcons View Manor is a small Boutique Hotel on Thesen Hill in Knysna. Spectacular Views from the Victorian Veranda across the lagoon, beautiful garden and a small restaurants for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Falcons View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcons View Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.