We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautifully situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belvidere Manor to your Saves list
Belvidere Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautifully situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

It is our second stay at the Belvidere Estate. We always stay in one of the bungalows overlooking the lagoon, which are spacious with a little kitchen, living- and bedroom. It is situated in a quiet residential area with lots of gardens and old trees. To Knysna and the "action" it is 10 Minutes drive but the Hotel-Restaurant is excellent and the tiny pub also offers good pub-fare. there are also a few Restaurants nearby - booking essential. The service is always very friendly, everything is spotlessly clean and we certainly would visit again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    48
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
87
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. Staff all so friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. The credit must go to Mike and Sue Mills who take a personal interest in their hotel and its guests. The location is great too, whether you want to relax or be active. Plenty of interest to see and do. This was my second visit and hopefully, not my last.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I typically do not write on-line reviews however the quality and enjoyment of my stay at Belvidere Manor compelled me to do so.

The atmosphere was very relaxing and the staff went to exhaustive efforts to make our stay a peaceful and enjoyable one.

Breakfast each day was a treat, as was swimming in the pool afterwards. I'd also recommend the burgers at the bell pub (on-site pub), delicious! (especially washed down with a Bloody Mary which was at least half the price of the ones in town!)

There's no doubt when I revisit South Africa I'll be definitely staying at Belvidere Manor again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

A little touch of paradise, extremely restful, with staff that could not do enough for you. Ideally located with beautiful views and great walks. Kynysna is a short drive away, as is a good beach, 10 mins drive. Food is great, and the pub on the estate is fabulous with good food and plenty of character. Accomodation (3 bed house) was also well equiped, and well maintained. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

To start with, our room was not ready upon arrival at 14:00. Also, there was no access control or CCTV. Just as we were about to take an afternoon nap, a bridal party sneaked onto the premises taking wedding photos right in front of our room. They were not patrons of Belvidere Manor. This very loud bridal party virtually on our doorstep is not what we had expected as Belvidere’s website states: "Enjoy the beguiling tranquility of the west shore of the Knysna Lagoon". When we returned from a function that evening, a loud and disturbing thumping noise was coming from the geyser above the main bedroom. We tried to phone reception three times without anyone answering. Wanted to request another room as it was impossible to sleep with the non-stop thumping noise coming from the geyser above our heads. The security door could not lock and there was no key for the door either. The fridge light was not working and the fridge was rusted inside. When I reported this to reception the next morning the lady on duty did not even offer an apology. She only said that she would report this matter. I have sent e-mail to Mr Mills, manager of Belvidere Manor, and gave them ample time to respond to my e-mail. Again, no feedback. Our stay was definitely not worth the $350 we have paid for the room for the night. We have stayed at Belvidere before and paid $200 for a Garden Superior Room which was of a much higher standard than the Lagoon Deluxe Room we stayed in now. I will not recommend Belvidere Manor to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

very spacious bungalows, very clean and comfortable. A bit lacking in character and the bathrooms a bit utiliarian in decor.
Very well kept grounds and warm, clean swimming pool.
Quality of food at breakfast was excellent.
Our main complaint was the extremely slow service at the meals we took on site, once in "Carolines retaurant" and once in the Pub. All the food is prepared in the same kitchen, and I assume by the same staff, the prices being much less in the Pub, so save some money and eat there. However, if you are in a hurry, or hungry, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Beuatiful hotel set overlooking the bay at Knysna. Each cottage is separate with up to three bedrooms and full kitchen with cooker, washing machine etc. for the longer stay.

Very chintzy but tastefully decorated with good toiletries. Some elements such as showers and fridges are showing some wear, but then who isn't.

Good restaurant altho the food tends to be a little heavy and good cellar. Breakfast is excellent with hot porridge available.

Better value for eating (food prepared in the same kitchen) is the village on-site pub - which takes you back to how pubs used to be in the UK. It also serves a good pint of local beer.

Would recomend this for an extended stay and (safe) base (private estate) to tour the surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvidere Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.