We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in the summer, I expect.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belvidere Manor to your Saves list
Belvidere Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Better in the summer, I expect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a quiet and peaceful location, about 5 miles outside Knysna. A little chilly and isolated in the winter, though. Our cottage (3 bedrooms) was spacious, but some rooms were better than others - the downstairs bedroom was cold and gloomy.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and excellent service from the "super" Jeffrey. It was hard to believe the Bell Inn was part of the same establishment because here the food was poor and service hopelessly slow and incompetent. After one dinner there we drove to Knysna every other evening to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear wcdw, I do regret that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Belvidere Manor, and that we were not able to discuss and review this together at the time. Unfortunately, August is a cold month here and we do our best to keep the cold out with the fireplace, heaters and electric blankets on the beds. My apologies for the quality of service at The Bell on the evening you dined in - we consistently get compliments both for our food, and our friendly staff, but I have addressed your comments with those on duty at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Belvidere Manor Hotel, a beautiful and peaceful location just outside Knysna. We were warmly welcomed by the ever friendly "soopa" man Jeffrey who showed us to our comfortable, tidy and well appointed garden cottage. We were so impressed by the genuine happiness, friendliness and excellant service from all of the staff which made our short stay so special. The meals served at the Bell pub and at the manor house were delicious as were the sumptious breakasts - amazing view over the lagoon. We have discovered another of South Africa's gems and will definately be back. Thanks to Sue and all her amazing friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you, and I'm so pleased you had such a happy stay with us. Jeffrey is always a favourite, but we hope that all our staff reflect this friendly attitude. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Belvidere Manor for tea and scones before heading on our long drive back to Cape Town. We sat and chatted to Sue, the owner, who is possibly the loveliest person I have ever met! We were served by the friendliest waiter, Jeffrey, who was constantly smiling and eager to please. After breakfast, Sue took us on a tour of the grounds. The little cottages are stunning and you can choose between lagoon or garden cottages. Either way, the setting is absolutely breathtaking with sloping lawns that lead straight down to the lagoon water!

Room Tip: The lagoon facing rooms are fantastic if you're looking for a good view, but they are close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ended a two-week trip with 3 nights at this lovely old hotel. Although it was Knysna Oyster Festival time, we were away from the "party" and could relax without the noise - yet we were close enough to join in the festivities when we wanted to do so. What struck us was the happiness of the staff, their friendliness and their quest to provide excellent service. The cottage was a delight and someone has thought of every detail - even umbrellas and a re-chargeable torch! The breakfast does not provide the widest choice imaginable, but what is provided is top quality and prepared to perfection. In my opinion, the best scones ever! We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We felt very priviledged to get married in Belvidere. Belvidere Manor Hotel hosted our reception and most of our guests. We couldn't have chosen a better place. It's in an incredibly beautiful and peaceful location on Knysna lagoon. It's a wonderful hotel with lovely private garden cottages, pretty gardens and a stunning view. Sue was incredibly patient and helpful right from the start of planning our wedding until all was over. We both lead busy lives in London and Sue made the planning so much easier with good recommendations and calmly ensuring that all ran smoothly. Nothing seemed too much for her, Mike and all the staff at Belvidere Manor. We felt incredibly lucky and grateful to have so much support from them. Our guests were blown away by the location, the hotel and the friendly service. They are still talking about the fillet steak! The food was delicious at both the hotel and at The Bell. A hotel with the oldest pub in the area. Who could ask for more? Delicious breakfasts on the verandah were a good start to our days in Knysna. Belvidere Manor ensured that we had the most amazing wedding and that we and our guests were very well looked after. It was a very special time in an awesome place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful coastal regions along the Indian ocean in South Africa. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage with porch and enjoyed the garden, the terrace breakfast, the evening BBQ -braai organised for our group (15 people). Knysna city and its lagoon is a real gem, take the boat tour on the lagoon and visit the park on the opposite border and don't forget to try the local oysters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous. Part 3 of our honeymoon in South Africa and first have to wind down. The garden cottage was lovely but the best parts about this place was the breakfast on the terrace and the pool. The view out to the lagoon is amazing. A wander onto the jetty is just so romantic. The little pub on site is great for a bar type meal. Really great staff and very comical guy serving the breakfasts. The whole place is however a little like a set from Stepford Wives - but that's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvidere Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.