We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvidere Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belvidere Manor to your Saves list
Belvidere Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights as part of a 7 day driving package from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and found it very hard to leave - it was gorgeous. The grounds and gardens are immaculate and breakfast (fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, cold meats, cheeses, freshly baked muffins plus a hot menu to choose from) is taken on the verandah in the main house with views of the grounds overlooking the bay. As were are a couple, the 1 bedroom 1 bathroom living room and kitchen with adjoining carport was more then adequate for our needs. We had a fireplace which quite excited us coming from tropical Queensland - fired it up both nights - what a hoot. On the first night we tried the pub on site, The Bell, and it lived up to the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor - the ribs were excellent. We ate at the waterfront at 34 degrees South (10ks away) the next night and it was superb - food and service were first class. Staff are very helpful and give us ideas of what to do and see in the area. Jeff is a real gem and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
Belvidere Manor is in a beautiful part of Knysna a short drive from town. We drove out to the heads and Buffalo Bay which was beautiful with its secluded rocky beaches. All in all a wonderful stay in Knysna and Belvidere Manor - wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Belvidere Manor nestled in the enclave of Belvidere on the lagoon in Knysna, is a paradise to behold. The Winter Season Rates are very good value. Caroline's the in house restaurant is superb and charming little pub, called The Bell is my favorite for a pub lunch.

The walks through the suburb of Belvidere are enchanting, the bird life immense and fresh air and beauty will uplift your soul.
The cottages are well appointed with every convenience and the buffet breakfast was terrific.

We have made this an annual getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

we arrived quite late at night, during August, and it was quite cold. the rooms had an electric heater and the beds had an electric blanket, but it was still quite cold, a more efficient heating system would be necessary to cater to winter tourists. We had a very large cottage with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths a sitting room and a kitchen. The setting is lovely.
The condition of the baths was unfortunately not optimal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We have again returned to Belvidere Manor using their winter special. It is exceptional value. The Manor itself is a lovely building and the cottages you stay are most comfortable. Love the touches such as the Goody bag and arriving at the cottage with the heater on making it cosy and electric blanket warming the bed. Ate at the Bell Restaurant which is on site, meals are good value and very tasty. Service is excellent. If you want a place to relax and to chill out you cannot do better by staying at Belvidere Manor

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We've just returned from a fantastic trip to South Africa and Belvidere was one of our stops. We stayed there for 2 nights and it was brilliant - near enough to town to eat at one of the local restuarants on one of our nights (the other night we ate at their pub - delicious) and far enough away to feel like you were in the country - very peaceful. We stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the pool and gardens (and the lagoon). The cottages were very well equipped - you can cook your own meal if you would rather spend the evening in. The service was great too. Would definitely return to this spot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Belvidere Manor's location (6km west of Knysna) is ideal to relax away from the hubbub but close enough to be in town in 5 minutes. We stayed in Cottage 13 which was ideal for us and our little boy of 1 year old as it had a second bedroom for his cot.

The central area of Belvidere Manor hosts the swimming pool, bandstand and the restaurant and it all looks down onto the lagoon. The place looks very serene at high tide or low tide, at sunset or sunrise.

We enjoyed dinner both from the lovely little Bell Tavern and from the A la carte restaurant in the manor itself. They catered for our request for a baby-sitter too and the staff were very friendly, loving the waves from our little boy as well as being knowledgeable and courteous.

The 3 nights (mid-week in Autumn) were very quiet, which was just what we wanted. We almost felt like we had the run of the place to ourselves. Thanks to everyone for making our trip an enjoyable and relaxing one.

Room Tip: Cottage 13 had a 2nd room for the child(ren). Cottages 1 and 15 are closer to the lagoon but further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Wonderful quiet location a few kilometres outside Knysna. Guest stay mostly in cottages surrounding the old manor house, set in beautiful green grounds with great views of the Kynsna lagoon.

The cottages are very comfortable and complete, dinner can be taken in the on-site pub or restaurant, breakfast is full and varied. Staff very friendly.

Terrific place place to stay for a restful break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvidere Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvidere Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.