We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views but scary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Alfred Pass (R339)

Prince Alfred Pass (R339)
R339 Between Knysna and Uniondale, Knysna 6139, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Attractions in Knysna
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Western Cape Government Transport & Public Works Flood damage repairs to Prince Alfred Pass (R339)from May 2014 to November 2014. Baseline Civil Contractors
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views but scary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been over the Prince Alfred Pass today so I can confirm that the road is open and passable with care. This is definately not a short cut from Knysna to Uniondale but it is a amazing route with spectacular views. However it is not for the faint hearted as in places it is a narrow dirt track and it is fair to say it is more suited to 4x4, however we were in a VW Polo and we survived unscathed. Will add photos when I get home.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Knysna to Colesberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

As others have said, we took this thinking it was a shortcut between Knysna and Uniondale on the way up to Colesberg.

It was a surprise, but a very welcome one. I really enjoyed the drive and would certainly do it again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We did the pass from Uniondale side to Knysna. The views were spectacular but at times the road was very narrow and we just held our breaths that no vehicle was coming from the other side!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mini adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I love to explore back roads, passes and gravel roads and this was definitely one of the more scenic passes we've ever done. Well maintained road with some bad spots (potholes mainly due to recent rain) but our Jeep handled it perfectly - saw a few sedans and felt sorry for them... Breathtaking views and very interesting to see the landscape change - you start in the forest and end up in the Karoo. Sadly we were heading home so we couldn't hike but next time we're in the area we will definitely visit again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great but not a shortcut to Knysna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We took this road in error thinking it was a shortcut to Knysna - wow what an adventure and what breath-taking scenery

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Alfred Pass (R339) also viewed

 

Been to Prince Alfred Pass (R339)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Alfred Pass (R339), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.