We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cape Ocean Experience

Southern Cape Ocean Experience
Turbine Waterclub Jetty | Thesen Island, Knysna 6570, South Africa
0722992968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 Activities in Knysna
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cape Tours offers outdoor Knysna activities such as canoeing on tranquil rivers, walks in the indigenous forests, mountain biking in indigenous forests, canyoning in gorges, informative township tours and is open to creating personalised tours in and around the Garden Route of South Africa to cater for travellers needs.
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Early morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We commenced our trip just as the early morning mist was disappearing.Karl was an excellent guide and also a very safety conscious sailor.we cruised the lagoon before we headed out to the open ocean.we where not lucky enough to sight dolphins but we did see one seal!
A great experience which is thoroughly recommended.
David,Pam and David

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
1 review
“One of the best experiences in the Garden Route.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Karl took us to a memorable ride in the Knysna Lagoon and into the Ocean that we could learn about the SA culture, animals, nature and a lot of other things. It was a very beautiful sunset in the lagoon and we could taste the wine of the region while Karl was telling us some great Stories. Awesome experience, must go and enjoy it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful evening sunset cruise - and as the weather conditions were favourable we were able to go through the Knysna Heads. Karl was a fantastic skipper and everyone on board enjoyed the experience..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personal and informative - great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Karl took us on a cosy and lovely sunset ride on his boat that he built himself. As boat builder, fisherman and tourist guide he had lots of interesting stories and anecdotes to share and of course he provided lots of information about the history of Knysna.
He is a very entertaining, caring and knowledgable host and I recommend his boat tours to everyone who is interested in learning more about Knysna on an individual and personal trip.
Even though it was holiday season and he hadn't gotten a day off for quite a while, he took his time with us and extended the 1.5hr trip to over 2 hours...
Thanks a lot, Karl, it was beautiful!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting. Intimate. Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Karl was an excellent guide of the Knysna lagoon and sea. He is knowledgeable about the history and surroundings and has a focus on safety unlike some of the other operators in the area. We watched the sunset from the boat overlooking the picturesque Heads, a perfect end to our time here. An experience not to be missed. Thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cape Ocean Experience also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Southern Cape Ocean Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cape Ocean Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.