We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most unique stays in Knysna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TwoAngels Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added TwoAngels Guest House to your Saves list
TwoAngels Guest House
1 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly TwoAngels Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the most unique stays in Knysna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon travelling down the Garden Route, and decided to stop over in Knysna. A friend had recommended Two Angels.

We stayed in the Lover's Nest cottage. Whilst not cheap, the location is truly superb. The cottage is itself an annex to the larger building and consequently feels very private and secluded. It has a balcony facing directly onto the lagoon, with stone steps that lead directly into onto the beach (or into the water, depending on the tide).

The rooms were clean and spotless. The view from the veranda is absolutely stunning, taking in one of the headways and a large part of the lagoon. Two Angels is on the opposite end of town, but this was a plus for us, and it's only 10 minutes to the Waterfront if you feel in the mood for some fine dining. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better, more romantic location in Knysna.

Karin, her partner, and their son Marlin were very helpful and friendly in the incredibly chilled and relaxed way that people are on the south coast. Karin was kind enough to lend us her book on hiking trails in the area, which came in very useful.

I think my only comment would be that there were quite a number of ants outside on the veranda, but these didn't seem to intrude into the unit.

Knyna itself is in a superb location for anyone who wants to do any hiking in the area. We hiked the Millwood Mines trail and the Jubilee trail in Millwood National Park, which are absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Lover's Nest is perfect for travelling/honeymooning couples. Discreet, quiet, with amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is one amazing place. We were a group of 24 people and we occupied the entire house.Everyone had there own privacy, while still spending loads of time together.
Great location with breathtaking views of the Knysna Heads. We were at awe with its beauty.
The owners are great people, and even shared in the news years festivity with us. The owners are very accomodating and we couldnt ask for greater hospitality. That Balcony was our own dance floor and the house was our own party house, it couldnt get any better than that.
The staff were all friendly and the house dog Freddie was also so "chilled"
We had access to all the amneties and it was all top class
Loved this place, and i am certain i can say the same for my other 23 friends.
Amazing holiday, with amazing people.

Room Tip: Cant really say which room was better, because we had access to the whole house and they were all gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have only the best memories from our stay at Two Angels. Originally we planned to stay only one night but decided to stay more - so charming it was! I believe it was the best place where we stayed during our 2,5 week trip from Cape Town and back.
You will be lucky if you can spend some time at Two Angels guest house.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in this lovely guesthouse for 3 nights and we were sad when we had to go.
We were not only charmed by the room with the lovely balcony and the daybed, but the owners
made us feel more than welcome. We enjoyed the walks on the beach with Freddy "the house dog", and the ever changing views of the lagoon. If it was not for the distance, we would come back every year. Thanks again Karin and Robert.
Pieter and Greta (Belgium)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was also introduced to this guesthose through National Geographic Traveller, and thought to myself that I had to try this place if I ever had to stay in Knysna. My oppurtunity came in July 2012. I only stayed there for one night, the hosts made me feel at home and relaxed on my arrival. The ambience and the setting of the house was exactly what I had imagined after seeing the photographs in the magazine. The view from the balconies is fantastic. The house itself was clean, very comfortable and cosy and catered for my every need. Unfortunately it was just a stop over travelling through to Cape Town, I would have liked to have stayed more and really soak up the charm of the house and what it had to offer. I will defintely make an effort to go back and stay for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been lucky enough to have stayed at this delightful guesthouse on 2 occasions in the past, and it is all it portrays.
I first saw it covered in National Geographic Traveller South Africa, and just the photo of the place taken from the lagoon made me want to go.
The location is stunning, with the beach on the lagoon at the bottom of the garden, beautiful and tasteful decor recreating an Edwardian era home, as it was probably originally designed as, and charming hosts.
Proximity to the Heads, and town, as well as being peaceful and great value for money.
Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our stop in Kynsna, was meant to be just that - a stop in Kynsna on route to the Mother City ... Not so!

Staying at the TwoAngels Guest House was magical! The warm welcome, the hospitability (amongst the staff, as well as the other guests), the countrified luxury of the room, the superb view from our balony, literally on the water’s edge & general tranquillity of the surrounds made this overnight layover uber special!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TwoAngels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TwoAngels Guest House

Address: 1 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly TwoAngels Cottages)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TwoAngels is a magnificent stone clad house with six sea-facing bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, at the water's edge of the Knysna lagoon. Additionally and separate from the main house, Lovers Nest is a quaint Honeymoon cottage at the water's edge with private access to the lagoon; The oyster Shell is a private Studio apartment on the upper ground floor of the annexe with a large balcony overlooking the lagoon; The Angels lair is a beautifully decorated two bedroom apartment on the 1st floor of the annexe with a balcony & panoramic views over the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TwoAngels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TwoAngels Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.