We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good loactaion in an otherwise average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Knysna Quays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good loactaion in an otherwise average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in a group for 2 nights here, The location of the hotel is in touching distance of the harbour. A five minute walk can take you to good pubs & bars. The restaurant in the hotel is also good in terms of the food spread & the ambiance. The rooms are a bit small for a couple. It is blissful in the evening & a walk around the hotel cannot be missed. Overall had a pleasant experience staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Rushik1803,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We apologise that we couldn't meet ALL of your GUEST expectations. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    173
    60
    7
    10
See reviews for
80
155
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in good position on the waterfront. The rooms are standard, clean and functional. The breakfast is good. There is a lot of noise from cleaning staff and other guests also coaches arriving and leaving at early in the morning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear jaqckson,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service the receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. We apologise for not being able to meet your expactations during your stay. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

We apologise for any inconveniece that we might have caused due to the noise levels in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for three nights in mid-August. Lagoon facing room was fine, the breakfasts were excellent with speedy service. A number of restaurants were very close, a couple of minutes walk, and the choice was varied and suitable for all tastes. The hotel was handily placed to try one of the Featherbed Nature Reserve options and parking was secure (R25 per night was well worth it!) Free Wi-Fi is also a bonus!

Room Tip: Book a "lagoon facing" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Bob H,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel more times than I can remember! There is just something captivating about it. The walkways are stunning, the rooms have a great view over the marina and the food is excellent. On this occasion I used my Prokard free night, and was still upgraded to a lagoon-facing room, was spoiled with amarula and biscuits. I really appreciate this hotel for actually living up to the prokard promise, which many do not do!

Room Tip: Choose the lagoon-facing rooms. The view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Bathory139,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive decor and ambience of our Hotel. We were even more delighted to meet your expectations by ensuring that your stay was as memorable one, as always.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durbanville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent service ! Friendly and helpful personnel! The hotel's interior is stylish and the cleanliness supurb. Will recommend the Knysna Quays Protea Hotel to anyone out there. The weather is great, restaurants and shops 100m away.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear alda n,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right on the Waterfront. Our rooms looked out onto the marina. Breakfast was an American style buffet with eggs to order. Service was exemplary. WiFi in rooms is patchy but free. OK in public areas. Knysna itself is an excellent base. Try the Elephant walks, The Heads and Noetze.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Rivamira,

Thank you very much for completing an online GUEST review after your stay with us.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations or not.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Marina itself well worth a visit town busy little sea side resort
Hotel had absolutely no personality and staff not very helpful, on arrival free WiFi not working (needed to check next location booking confirmation)
Told technical fault, when eventually connected very slow and patchy connection, rang front
Desk to ask if still faulty told all okay and had I tried moving around room.
On the whole okay but would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear PansyanChunk,

Thank you for completing an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us here at protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

The Wi-Fi's slow connectivity has been reported to our IT department and technitians are looking in to the problem.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where GUESTS can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.