We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Ticket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Knysna Quays to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just the Ticket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is very pleasant and with a nice view and ideal location near the restaurants. Nothing much else to say about the place, but it appears there is a 200 character minimum in reviews so hopefully I've made it now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear gdn101,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and It was our pleasure to accommodate you.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    199
    65
    8
    11
See reviews for
90
181
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

.This is a very good hotel right on the waters edge of Knysna Quays. The location is excellent, the food ample and well cooked and the staff are excellent. The only drawback is the noise and lack of insulation between rooms. This seems to be a failing of Protea hotels as we recently had the same problem in Port Elizabeth. Here it was even worse. Children running along corridors late at night, doors banging, people including staff shouting. One poor guest was very ill and we heard every nauseating detail for several hours. Then the start of numerous alarm clocks from five onwards. This is just not acceptable! On our second night it was almost as bad but this time no sickness - thank goodness. Great hotel but would not choose to stay here again without earplugs!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs or choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Deat Bill T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online GUEST review after your recent stay with us.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations, therefore I would like to apologise for the amount of noise that you have experienced during your stay with us.

I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities and as far as the STAFF-shouting concern, it has been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

When accommodating big/International groups, the hotel intends to be much noisier than usual. Unfortunately it's something we currently cannot control.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is brilliantly located next to the Knysna Waterfront with its restaurants, bars and shops as well as being an easy stroll into the pleasant town itself.

The rooms were excellent and comfortable and well furnished and offered excellent views of the waterfront and the lagoon. The breakfast selection was good and having freshly made pancakes was a real treat! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the watefront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Martia_C,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding our buffet breakfast and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays once again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is nothing particularly special about the Protea, other than its location. It is right on the waterfront. The views are excellent. The staff are great. I forgot one of my jackets in the bar, the next day when we asked for it they had kept it safe for me, which I really didn't expect. The breakfast is very nice too. The lady making the eggs does them very well. On the whole it was a very enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Knysna. The choice of restaurants within walking distance is brilliant, although once we had been to JJ's we didn't need to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms above first floor seemed to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mattbradney,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Protea Knysna Quays was one of three Protea hotels we staying in South Africa and it was the certainly the best. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the buffet breakfast was amazing. We had a family suite with two double beds (very comfortable) and a large bathroom with separate tub and shower. It rained while we were there and they loaned us umbrellas for our short walk to dinner on the waterfront. Several good varied restaurants within 5 minute walk. This made a great base for us in touring the little Karoo and Tsitsikamma forest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lagoon for amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear reneeroemmele,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an online GUEST review after your recent stay here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would like to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered.

Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This impressive hotel has a modern, functional hotel with a nautical theme. It offers comfortable accommodation. Our bathroom had a shower only. They offer free Wifi in room. There is good access to the Waterfront- right beside it. Great breakfast buffet with massive range of choices.

Room Tip: We had a non-lagoon facing double room which was lovely, but a lagoon facing room would be even nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Belinda R,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online GUEST review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Kindly note that all of our rooms throughout the hotel are equiped with a seperate bath and shower. Should you want us to investigate the matter.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really good, centrally located hotel. The hotel is decent value, the rooms are nice (even better if you have a lagoon view) and the breakfast is great. The staff were very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: Pick a lagoon view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Douglas A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a online GUEST review after your recent stay with us here at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Fielder
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where GUESTS can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.