We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Knysna Quays to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Gulph Mills, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“relaxing overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

An overnight stop - this hotel is well situated on the waterfront and handles many group tours. The room was decorated nicely and I had a view of the shops below but a great view for amazing sunrise. The Wi-Fi is strong in common areas but didn't work for me in the room. Each floor has a hotspot location. I liked the open lobby/stairs feel and the relaxing color scheme. The buffet breakfast can get a bit overwhelming with all of the group tours - service seemed to be catching up to them to refill foods and clean tables. It is about 5-10 minute walk to other cafes/shops away from waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear philatravelgirl_11

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    198
    65
    8
    10
See reviews for
90
180
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel,it has a lovely welcoming atmosphere.

We spent 4 nights here recently and I was impressed by the entire hotel,the extras include
-a heated pool which my kids loved
-in house wellness centre( which was perfect,have a massage in the morning just before breakfast)
-the breakfast was really good and they made special allowances for halaal
- the amazing views from the lagoon facing rooms
- the distance to some amazing restaurants
- the featherbed company: for boat/yacht/ferry rides is situated 2minutes from the hotel and it is definitely worth it,my kids loved the day trip to featherbed nature reserve,and the hike,it had the most beautiful views.

Overall this hotel comes highly recommended especially with children.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Nasmia Y

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice located hotel
Has very good water front
Property is new and well maintained.
Rooms are small but view is excellent.
There is nothing more in Kysna rather than Waterfront.
Morning at waterfront is beautiful.
Food quality is too improve.
Lots of group can suffer at a time at breakfast.
Rest it is best and should stay at Kysna for sure.

Room Tip: I had good time at my holiday. Worthed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Hitesh130866

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays in the near future!

Best regards from Knysna,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and all in all found it to be a very pleasant experience. The room that we had was a lagoon facing room, away from the road noise, which was worth the premium. The breakfasts were very sumptious with plenty of choice. The situation of the hotel could not have been better being right on the waterfront with a variety of excellent restaurants close by. Comfortable room with lots of space - clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Did not try the pool but was assured by other guests that it was lovely and warm. Only slight niggle was that there was a charge to use the hotel carpark which, whilst not massively expensive, should perhaps have been included in the price of the room. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lagoon facing room - second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Robchar,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their excellent service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna and the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well palced for the waterside area. It is worth the supplement to get the lagoon views. Breakfast good and a nice pool area to chill out. Chill not being appropriate as this is the warmest pool I have even been in! Comfy clean room typical for the chain, we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Martin B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Protea was just the average hotel you wanted - comfortable rooms for an overnighter, centrally located, and gives you a decent breakfast to start your day. The pool isn't splendid, the staff show an average level of hospitality, but the rooms are functional and clean. If you're looking for a place to chrash, and dont mine mass market treatment, go for it.

Room Tip: take the sea view - would be worth looking over the yatchs. We were on 323 ( i think ) - the odd num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madhuslg,

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed there while doing the Garden route.. so much to do at Hotel, beautiful surroundings, friendly atmosphere and the breakfast...out of this world! :-)) Ask about the waterfall nearby.. beautiful hike..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Chriszelda,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are really delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their outstanding service.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where GUESTS can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.