We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Knysna Quays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well palced for the waterside area. It is worth the supplement to get the lagoon views. Breakfast good and a nice pool area to chill out. Chill not being appropriate as this is the warmest pool I have even been in! Comfy clean room typical for the chain, we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Martin B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays again in the near future.

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    180
    61
    8
    10
See reviews for
84
159
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Protea was just the average hotel you wanted - comfortable rooms for an overnighter, centrally located, and gives you a decent breakfast to start your day. The pool isn't splendid, the staff show an average level of hospitality, but the rooms are functional and clean. If you're looking for a place to chrash, and dont mine mass market treatment, go for it.

Room Tip: take the sea view - would be worth looking over the yatchs. We were on 323 ( i think ) - the odd num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madhuslg,

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed there while doing the Garden route.. so much to do at Hotel, beautiful surroundings, friendly atmosphere and the breakfast...out of this world! :-)) Ask about the waterfall nearby.. beautiful hike..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Chriszelda,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are really delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their outstanding service.

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great however not kids friendly. The location is brilliant and the rooms are average. Excellet bedding and scumptious breakfast. I would stay again if it was my husband and I. Family room was not big enough for my family of 4.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Kashma R

Thank you for review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Centrally located with various restaurants near by. It's an "alright hotel" but nothing special. Really good breakfasts and friendly staff. The location is the best thing about this hotel. They are quite mean with their access to wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Johndeirdre1

Thank you for completing a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

I am delighted to hear that my STAFF were so friendly and I have congratulated the breakfast TEAM for doing an outstanding job.

Further to your feedback regarding our wi-fi service, please take note that it works on a voucher system at 200MB per session and complimentary for all GUESTS. Should the internet voucher expire, another can be collected from our reception desk.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We parked in the secure parking available (there is another public car park just outside but this serves for the public transport system as well.) The hotel rooms were large interconnecting. Ours had a view on to the Knysna waterfront yacht marina so we were pretty pleased. The restaurant was used for breakfast only and we had full buffet breakfast. The eggs were cooked to perfection as we ordered them. The front desk staff were helpful although on checking out they were going to charge me for two car parking instead of one. The mistake was due to us having two rooms. When I explained we only had INE car they rectified the situation immediately. If i remember correctly it ios about 40 rand per night, but not sure. It was full at the time but very quite. On the down side the internet service was rather slow . Otherwise all fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the quays not land side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear GRIMS,

Warm greetings from the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays!

Thank you so much for completing a review on TripAdvisor

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered after your recent stay with us. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! Further to your feedback regarding the parking charges, we sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding and we have addressed this with the front office and security TEAM.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Knysna is one of the Garden Route's best known travel destinations and the hotel is perfectly situated on the water front facing the lagune.
The rooms are nice, clean and the beds are excellent, but breakfast is poor and the hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner. Nevertheless, this is not a handicap as at the Marina there are plenty of excellent restaurants.
What was less nice is that the weather was cold and rainy, the room was not heated and as I was there outside high season (October 2012) there was not much to do in this certainly gorgeous place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rob65_10

Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding the breakfast by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where GUESTS can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.