We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Knysna Log-Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Such a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had a lovely time. It was rather quiet in Knysna while we were here so we had the run of the town and the hotel. The manager gave us a great deal when we checked-in and we felt that he took a personal interest in all the guests. The staff were all very friendly and we really enjoyed lounging by the pool and using the hot tub.

There was a good choice and variety at breakfast and we felt that everything was done to a very good standard. Our room was really comfortable and we had a nice balcony.

The building is amazing - really impressive timber framed. It also had unusual zig-zagging corridors - I really liked this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
62
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great hotel in the centre of Knysna an easy walk away from the Marina. Its easy to get to the Heads by car. The rooms are very neat and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is pretty good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Drunen911.
thank you for your great review. always appreciated and reassuring that what our staff works so hard at, is being noticed. Hopefully we will see you or your family soon again in Knysna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff are friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is convenient and close to all amenities. The breakfast buffet with a selection of fresh fruit is the ideal way to start your day, will definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. i will pass this on to a staff that has tremendous pride and work incredibly hard every day. we look forward to your next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, well worth the extra money but I wouldn't stay in the town for long not a lot to see and do. Breakfast was very impressive with a good selection on offer. Staff also where very helpfull and nice to us on our stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank You "BS" many of the things you praise us for are basics don't take much to get right, but is so often overlooked. the hardworking staff will appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What an unexpected surprise. The food was nice, and the Logg Inn was centrally located. The staff was super friendly and I can't fault it. I only spent one night in a stop-over, but I am pleased my travel agent chose this place

Room Tip: The ends of the corridors are better as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you "pilotlady" Great to hear your agent gave you some good advice. Next time, stay a little longer and we will gladly show you so much more of our magic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is convenient for walking around town. The pool is small and in the parking lot almost. The rooms are quaint but serious need for renovation. Worst hotel shower ever in my travels. Food at breakfast was quite fresh and good. They have no restaurant for dinner and a old lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent 3 nights here with my guests. Rooms are good and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Decent choice of restaurants within walking distance. Good breakfast at hotel. Nice pool and sauna and Jacuuzi. Only disappointment was the noisy street that my room faced onto, will request pool side room on repeat trip.

Room Tip: Request pool side rooms to avoid vehicle traffic at night and early mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Knysna
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditionedand fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at two world class golf courses, which allows our guests access to these breathtaking courses at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.