We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Log-Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice cozy hotel!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in this nice and cozy hotel...the location is excellent as it is a 5 min walk to the waterfront and tothe knysna main road...there is huge supermarket just across the road..quite safe area as well...we walked back late night and dint seem to be any issue... Very courteous reception and staff...the breakfast was nice...there was a big Indian group staying in the hotel and they attempted to make a couple of Indian items for the breakfast....which is a nice gesture but it was a disaster..all Indians including us were advising the others not to touch it :-)
Would definitely reccommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    72
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
45
72
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visited this hotel with a very large group and had a very enjoyable stay, The rooms are excellent - very clean and quite spacious. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We had to leave very early one morning and asked if they would mind putting on a simple breakfast for us and they respnded by putting on the full works a good hour ahead of schedule. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all appeared freshly cooked. The bar area was very pleasant and even though the service was a little slow we felt very well looked after. I have vsited Knysna a couple of times before but the first time I have stayed here - would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my night at the Log Inn. The staff was welcoming and helpful when we arrived. The hotel is appealingly decorated with old railroad equipment, and in other ways resembles an American Western ski lodge – though it may be the most luxurious of that type I’ve ever stayed in. The rooms are large and comfortable, with excellent bathrooms. I was delighted to find not only a sauna, but a pool and whirlpool out back, all of which were clean and pleasant. The morning buffet offers a wide and tasty selection suitable for any appetite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been coming to the Log-Inn for nearly a decade, 6 or 7 times a year. with groups of 30-40 people. I'm a guide and tour manager. To whom else can one phone round noon and have guests who've just lost a dear parent, find a beautiful bouquet in their room, when they check in a few hours later? I've lost count of the number of appointments with dentists, doctors, physios and special encounters like sharks or elephants that the Log-Inn has organized for members of our groups.
What I like about the Log-Inn breakfasts are the adaptations to the guests. In addition to all the yummy yoghurts, fresh and canned fruit, cereals, toast, etc. if people from another culture (e.g. India or China) are staying at the hotel, special dishes are added to the buffet. If the group is at leisure, one can order freshly made eggs done any which way, plus sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc. If the group has to get somewhere fast, then large chafing dishes offer scrambled eggs (from the taste I think the eggs are free range or organic) and all the other trimmings.
The rooms were redecorated a couple of years ago and since then guests have regularly come to me with compliments about them. And the large entrance hall where the reception is, is so impressive, with it's stained glass woodcutter windows, yellowwood features, attractive paintings, and fresh bowls of proteas.
The Log-Inn is central - 2 minutes to Main Street, 3 or 4 to the Waterfront Quays. Laundries, internet cafés, even a health food store close by. No wonder my groups love their stay in Knysna.

Room Tip: All the rooms have free wi-fi. 101-110 plus 121-130 have large balconies, while the other rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here for a night in April. The room itself was ok and nicely furnished but bathroom pretty awful - felt much like an old people's home with a musty brown old fashioned bathroom suite which felt very 1970's.

What really let it down for us though were the evening staff. The lady who checked us in was by no means rude but just thoroughly bored and disinterested. The porter who was asked by reception to help with our bags seemed to linger for a tip and, having not got one, scowled at us every time we walked past him forr the rest of the evening... Not a pleasant atmosphere.

The gentleman who replaced the female receptionist later on in the evening followed a similar pattern - throwing an adaptor we had requested across the reception desk and again being rude.

Shame, as the breakfast and waiting staff the next morning were very pleasant.

Unfortunately the atmosphere of the night before really coloured our experience - glad to be checking out the following day!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Guest Relations Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Very shocked by this report! My wife and I have run Knysna Log-Inn from the start in 1998. We have always prided ourselves on personal, friendly and professional service being given by all our staff, many of whom started here at the same time.

During this time the hotel has received a number of personal service accolades.
All those service comments that you experienced are totally unacceptable and need to be addressed.

Below your comments are other guests experiences that stayed recently, which is how we perceive our service should be. This report is only the 6th of 70 responses, that has been as unhappy as you. The majority of other guests have rated us either 4 or 5.

It is very important for us to follow up on your experience and would appreciate telling us the following:
1) What was the date that you stayed with us so we know who was on duty.
2) Did you discuss any of your experience with any of our managers?

My e.mail address is peter@log-inn.co.za if you are willing to help us.
We would also like to invite you back to us, unannounced, and with our compliments, to be able to experience " the real Knysna Log-Inn hospitality"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice wooden shaped hotel. Only 5 minutes walking from the Knysna Waterfront. Good service, clean comfortable beds, free Wifi. We didn't try the jacuzzi or the swimming pool, but they looked good. We ordered diner in the hotelroom and the food was superb (I never saw such big plates full of tasty food for this price in any hotel!)
Breakfast is a buffet with fresh fruits, juice, yoghurts, pancakes, bread etc and you can order eggs+sausages+mushrooms and coffee or tea.
I can recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Family rooms don't have a balcony. Our room was on the street-size but didn't have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you Ernie for your review. So good to hear that all the staff's hard work was noticed and appreciated.
We have become known for our breakfast quality, with tempting fresh and sometimes sweet treats that are a little decadent, like the cinnamon pancakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasanta45
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel has a nice old world charm. Rooms are well furnished and quite large.We had a very comfortable stay.
The hotel is close to the water side warf, where the resturants are located.
The staff were not friendly, though the service level was adequate.
Breakfast spread was OK but the buffet was laid out in a crammed place

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Prassanta.
Thank you for your review. One of our unique selling points is our location in our beautiful little town of Knysna. The only time you should find breakfast area crammed is if we have a large group who ask to depart early and we set out both hot and cold breakfast to speed up service. Maybe that was also why you perceived our staff to not be friendly. That is normally one of our really strong points. Apologies for that.
We like to offer relaxed breakfast to most of our guests whereby you can chose from the big continental selection while getting your cooked breakfast prepared in the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#12 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditionedand fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at two world class golf courses, which allows our guests access to these breathtaking courses at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.