We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers to your Saves list
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a double room. Really liked the friendliness of the staff and especially the owner. He gave us some good advise for this to do (also oudside of Knysna) and made us feel very welcome! The free breakfast was great and the only thing that we didn't really enjoy was that our matrass seemed to have a hole in it and that we were quite far away from the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our overland tour of 8 people for one night.
Great hostel with large comfy sofas you can lounge on and sit by the fireplace.
Rooms were warm and bunk beds comfortable.
Great kitchen with everything you need plus they provide a free breakfast of mixed fruit, bread jams and eggs, just make it yourself :)
Wonderful guys who run the place and super helpful with any information about the town and can organise any tours.
Wifi was good.
Overall had a pleasant stay and will come back again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Best hostel so far, in SA! Karl abd Mandy make you feel home in an instant. The hostel is actually there home and we didnt feel ourselves like guests for one moment. Rooms: clean and comfortable! Kitchen; everything you need, plus a great breakfast included with eggs and fruit! Shower; warm! Livingroom is comfy. Karl put on the braai and had a wonderful time eating and playing games. Also very helpful advice of activities. When we left mandy said: "leaving? Just becoming part of the family!" And so it felt. Tnx guys!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mandy and Karl were very helpful and friendly from start to finish. Fraser was really cute too :)
We stayed here for 4 nights in a private double with shared bathroom. The only problem with our room was it was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs so we could hear people going up and down the wooden stairs and it also backed onto the kitchen so very early morning we could hear the breakfast stuff being set up. So not much sleep was had. Jembjos was very clean and well equipped with everything we could possible need . Karl also did a braai one evening and all we needed to get was what we wanted to eat and drink...

Room Tip: The downstairs room were pretty noisy. Not sure if it was because everywhere was wooden flooring inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent from arrival to departure. Friendly welcome and introduction to the hostel and the surroundings. Room was clean and comfortable and so was the shared bathroom and lounge. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, and we were invited to bring along things to put on the braai/BBQ that Karl lit for the night. We felt right at home with Karl and Mandy. Quality was amazing and was great value for money. Thanks, Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the nicest time during my stay at Jembjo's. Only Karl was there, (his wife Mandy was away) but he and his sweet little dog Fraser made me feel right at home.

As I was getting checked in, Karl asked what I was interested in doing while in Knysna and gave me some really good suggestions for how best to explore the town and surrounding area. When I expressed interest in one of the options - a sailing trip out to the Knysna Heads - he immediately rang them up and found out that a boat was going on out within the half hour and even drove me down to the Waterfront to ensure I would make it!

On my second night there Karl fired up the braai and he, I, and two other guests had a lovely evening grilling, eating, drinking and chatting about our travels. Karl has travelled all over Africa and was full of great stories about his time on this amazing continent.

The backpackers itself is lovely, clean and kept up with loving care. The kitchen is gorgeous, and the free breakfast each morning was a lovely extra.

This is really the place to stay if you are tired of soul-less backpackers and want a more personal experience during your stay in Knysna. Karl and Mandy (and Fraser!) will treat you right!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the ‘Waterfront’ & town. – Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.