We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant

Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant
Phantom Pass Road, Knysna 6520, South Africa
+27 44 386 0201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 123 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Secluded restaurant overlooking the Knysna river, serving traditional French and Mediterranean Cuisine
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our first visit. The setting couldn't be better, right opposite the Knysna lagoon and river. The food did take a while to come but was worth the wait. The burgers are homemade and are huge. One of my companions is a vegetarian and there was quite a selection on the menu for him to choose from. Although have to admit cant understand why his mushroom risotto was more expensive than the burgers and the fish and chips. The waiter was very friendly and we will definitely be returning soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    5
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“the whole package..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This family run restaurant has a delightful menu with delicious choices which is hard to make... a great place for breakfast, lunch or supper, or all three, with the atmosphere and views you will lose track of time! Great food, great coffee, great hospitality... great time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A 5 minute drive for an excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We almost passed on this restaurant due to recent comments, but we are so glad we took local advice and picked it for our restaurant choice during our night in Knysna - on first impressions this is a fabulous restaurant in a fantastic setting and with a beautiful view. We were spoilt for choice with the menu and were grateful for the advice and recommendations of the waiter (the pork belly is very tasty!!). Our night ended in front of the open fire with desert and a lovely chat with very helpful waiter Luke - this restaurant is definitely worth a visit and a relaxing change from the noisy crowded Waterfront. Don't hesitate!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worse experience at a Restaurant in Knysna thus far.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were four and everyone's food was dreadful. My rabbit was dry and tasteless, the polenta was rubbish, two others at the table had the oxtail. It was light brown in colour, presented like army food and tasteless and the forth person had what was supposed to be crispy pork with mash potato. Crispy it was not and the mash tasted and looked like nothing I've ever seen before. The service was non-existent, we waited over 45 minutes for starters, with only two other tables there, and over an hour for our mains. All the plates were sent back with more than half its contents and no discount, coffee, dessert was given and we still got charged R60 corkage for two bottles of wine. We won't be rushing back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes B, Owner at Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jose,

Thank you for taking the time to review Die Gieter. I understand that your food was not up to standard, which is a real pity as the dishes, which you ordered, are our most popular dishes and the feedback on these dishes are really good. Whilst no excuse, the chef is new, and has since undergone extensive training to ensure that there will be no re-occurrence of such an event.

Having said that, we would really like the opportunity to make this up to you and your friends and would love for you to join us again for a complimentary meal. We will be in contact and hopefully you will give Die Gieter another chance.

I wish you a wonderful week.

Speak soon.

Kind regards

Dalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such an experience Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After quite a few bad experiences we were advised that this restaurant had improved on service and food. We ended up with the worst experience in this restaurant again. 1.5hrs before starters arrived which all 4 were not good. 1hr later our mains arrived. Oxtail -tasteless & full of uncooked fat. Rabbit - burned. Pork Belly was so dry we thought it had been carved last week. The waiter had told us that it had crackling which it did not, but as for the mash potato, this was a laugh. We could not decide what this was - my husband thought it was some sort of pap, our other guest thought it was overboiled cauliflower mash. There was no management around and after the plates went back to the kitchen uneaten the Chef arrived at the table and enquire what was wrong with the food. We asked her if she had tasted the food and she answered she had not !!! The R700 we paid for this meal i feel was just as if the money had been stolen from us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes B, Owner at Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Beverly,

Thank you for taking the time to review Die Gieter. I understand that your food was not up to standard, which is a real pity as the dishes, which you ordered, are our most popular dishes and the feedback on these dishes are really good. Whilst no excuse, the chef is new, and has since undergone extensive training to ensure that there will be no re-occurrence of such an event.

I am somewhat surprised by your statement that you were not offered any compensation as our manager phoned me immediately when your complaints were received and I told her to offer you discount or to offer you a voucher to come and eat with us again - I will certainly investigate this.

Having said that, we would really like the opportunity to make this up to you and your friends and would love for you to join us again for a complimentary meal. We will be in contact and hopefully you will give Die Gieter another chance.

I wish you a wonderful week.

Speak soon.

Kind regards

Dalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Gieter Deli & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.