We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant to go for that special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Brenton Road | Belvidere, Knysna, South Africa
044 3860005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant to go for that special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

It was our first visit to Pembreys this week and we thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. The meal was fabulous and we loved the fact that they try so hard to do different recipes with vegetables. The service was efficient but could have been a bit friendlier. It is a little on the pricey side but worth it for that special occasion. The place was packed for a Wednesday evening which goes to prove that they have got it right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We think that if you worked out that you do not pay extra for vegetables, bread and butter and, despite our extensive and reasonably priced wine list we allow b.y.o, it will work out on a par with most. When guests are dining with us for the first time, one has to strike a balance with being too friendly and intrusive, especially if it is a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    44
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I feel sad when reviewers of Pembreys say that they had no room left for dessert. This is one place where you really have to push through to the end! The food is always so divine. The figs with Gorgonzola, the crab ravioli, the duck - one really can't go wrong. And then the desserts! On my most recent visit I had the panna cotta with rhubarb and elderflower compote and cardamom ice cream - each flavour just perfect. The lemon tart with lavender ice cream on a previous visit must be one of the loveliest desserts I've ever eaten. All served in a peaceful country setting away from the crowds of central Knysna in season. Service is excellent and staff very friendly. Don't miss out on Pembreys and make sure to go there hungry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you! As the Season goes on, you cannot imagine how much we appreciate a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The previous reviewer "WoodyElephant" has produced such a brilliant review, I hesitate to follow.

Here you have a husband and wife team who have dedicated themselves to creating their vision of a great restaurant.

A calm & welcoming ambience
Space & privacy
Comfortable seating
Elegant table settings
Calm, friendly & efficient service.
Outstanding food & wine options.

For the starter my wife chose Steak tartare with melba toast whilst I had the King prawns this was followed by Mossel Bay Sole for my wife and I elected for the Springbok loin. The desserts were respectively Creme brule & Sorbets.

All was cooked to perfection.

Viv and her team on front of house were delightful & Peter took the trouble to come and chat after the meal.

We were lucky enough to spend a month in SA and eat in a number of highly rated restaurants
and Pembreys was amongst the very best.

Thank you Viv & Peter

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you, it means a lot to our staff and ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pembreys Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If there is a problem with Pembreys, it is whether to start with a selection of their dozen or more wonderful antipasti, freshly made each day, or give in to ordering the baby calamari or warm duck breast salad. Then again, it could be a problem if, having taken a starter and main course, that you have no room left for dessert in this, the only restaurant I know in which I cannot resist trying the home made ice-cream or sorbet.

The thing about Pembreys is that the food is not simply great - certainly the best anywhere around Knysna - but that it is consistently great, whether it be the breast of guinea fowl and risotto, the sole or the slow cooked shank of Karoo lamb.

Also it does not seem to matter how busy it is. The hostess and the same two waitresses know the place inside out and service flows seamlessly without fuss, but with always a smile.

Some restaurants may be flashy and trendy, like a new top-end Maserati. Pembreys is more like an old Jaguar with an engine that quietly purrs and invites you to sit back and enjoy the ride.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Peter just loved and appreciated, your motor car comparison! Just for the record, he drives a 1927 Austin 7 but he would love a Jag!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretzfeld
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited the restaurant on a weekday evening towards the end of the holiday season and enjoyed the nice, relaxing athmosphere and being away from hords of people. The place filled up quickly but the service remained attentive and friendly without being pushy. We thought the food and wine to be very good. Make especially sure to keep some room in your tummy for their delicious desserts, they are really yum!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Our waiting staff appreciated your comments on their service - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembreys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.