We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the place when I need a special treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Brenton Road | Belvidere, Knysna, South Africa
044 3860005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“Always the place when I need a special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pembrey's is without a doubt the best restaurant on the garden route. We always have an outstanding meal. Peter is a "masterchef" of note and Viv is always charming and very accommodating. No 1 restaurant on my guest list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are SO GRATEFUL for this review - more so than you will ever know! Pete & Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    44
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD GUARANTEED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Frequently visited as they make the best lamb shank ever - falls off the bone and soooo tasty.
An evening of guaranteed good food - service can be tweeked a bit - but personal attention by chef and owners well appreciated. Will definately recommend our visitors again and will be back to try some other dishes - Steak was excellently prepared and presented too. A must for everyone and anyone who enjoys good cooking ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again and for recommending Pembreys. Pete and Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surely the best in Knysna?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This has been a family favourite for many years, having celebrated many an anniversary, birthday, Xmas and Easter. So this year was no reason to change - we were predicatably rewarded. Viv confidently took our orders knowing we were going to love our choices, making sure the kids got what they wanted to - off menu adjustments. The food was scrumptious - cooked to perfection and clearly by someone - Pete - whao know what he is doing, not complicated but very comforting. Great selection of wines that are well priced. If you want to make a trip Knysna, you have to make sure you go to Pembreys to ensure you have put a cherry on the top!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Not having a "kiddies' menu" it gives us great pleasure when little ones are encouraged by their parents to eat what we have to offer - Thank you for the review. Viv & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food and service was brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Altough we only visited Pembrey's for a wedding and then a brunch we were amazed at their service and food.

Their staff have been with them for over 15 years, and it clearly shows. We can't wait to visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
You made our day! We do try to make functions as special as possible. Our Staff say "THANK YOU" too. Peter & Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Pembreys. We all had the sole which was simply delicious. We booked on the strength of the reviews and were not disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words. Peter & Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembreys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.