We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't seem anything extraordinary to me...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Heads

Knysna Heads
Coney Glen Road, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Attractions in Knysna
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
BARCELONA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Didn't seem anything extraordinary to me...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's nice if you pass by but
I wouln't make km to look at them...
Nice view from there but nothing extraordinary...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    188
    23
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

this was our first stop when we entered Knysna, we took a drive up to the east head to admire the views and we were not disappointed. The drive (climb up) the road was so scenic that my husband was battling to keep his eyes on the road lol.
When we got to the top (after passing some seriously pretty houses) there was a car guard waiting to direct us to a parking spot and he was kind enough to tell us where the best lookout points were. once we got to the lookout trail we found a few spots that look onto the lagoon and the town. There are no words to describe the beauty.
Wes pent at least an hour at the lookout spot and followed the walkway only to be more in awe of the natural beauty that is Knysna. We went back at Sunset only to be treated to the perfect African sunset, it was a bit nippy but not unbearably cold so if you do go late afternoon a jacket will come in handy.
Also there is a secluded beach that you can see from the top of the head, we headed down to the beach (not suitable for swimming but great for awesome photographs). It is very secluded so i would suggest going there when there are other people around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
469 helpful votes 469 helpful votes
“Sunset with panache”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Every evening different...wonderful how water, land and sky meet so gloriously. Well worth a visit and a quick drink at the new restaurant on the water

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A must do, the views are out of this world. Friendly people all round. Apparently there is a bus that can take you around the knysna but we chose to drive ourselves as we had kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a cruise on the lagoon over to the Featherbed Nature Reserve where we had stunning views of the Knysna Heads. As beautiful as anything I saw whilst in South Africa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knysna Heads also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Knysna Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Heads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.