We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lunar Cafe Knysna

Lunar Cafe Knysna
SHOP Z2-09 opp spar | KNYSNA MALL, Knysna, South Africa
044 382 0758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 124 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We've created the perfect place for you to enjoy your brew, blended to perfection, the café is small and intimate, filling up quickly with a constant buzzing of coffee beans grinding away as wonderful aromas of espresso fill the air. Our grey tables are small and quaint with funky white designer chairs to offset the casual softness of our 80yr old Persian carpet which is proudly displayed in the center of triple volume space.
Garden route
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A restaurants success rests on three pillars - ambience , service and food .I think Lunar Cafe is strategically placed in a mall. Seating indoors and outdoors. I liked the ambience The long tables are conducive to meeting friends and strangers .Magazines and newspapers can occupy those alone and/or bored and you will get bored with the service. Talk about slow. I felt a little embarrased asking the rather shy waiter for a menu... The person managing the Cafe was mostly outside smoking or eating or on a laptop.. The only recognition of my presence was given to me when standing up to leave.Wow , a smile and eye contact on departing. What had I done wrong to get the cold shoulder ? I don,t know but here's the rub friends . The coffee is undoubtedly the best in town . The food is simpe ,varied ,well plated and DELICIOUS. Go there . The owners must work urgently on the service . Please. OK ?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The decor is awesome, the muffins terrific but the service was very, very slow and the portions small. Been there three times and loved the peri-peri livers the most.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a lovely lunch this afternoon at Luna Cafe.We had a table outside in the Sun and the setting was pleasant .We had the Special of the day ie Lentil ,chic pea and Eisbein Soup.The soup was very nice and filling with a very nice taste.We had a very nice Cappuccino afterwards

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“vivacious grace consistent pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

every meal a delight for the eye: colourful, aesthetic plating, ingredients carefully contemplated to ensure every mouthful truly enchantingly delicious....and this is bistro cafe style food...truly a gem in knysna and not to be overseen....will return everyday.....plus for cyberjunkies, free wi fi, and delicious roasted coffee.......the staff are genuinely friendly and our hostess Tasha stylish calm & collected inconspicuously meandering through the tables, and surprisingly easy on the purse....
great vibe....great food.....comfy lounge area upstairs where we lazed over coffee and breakfast croissants into lunchtime with delectable watercress soup and chargrilled chicken with pesto mayo on sourdough baguette loads of rocket....mm...it is Yes! Bella

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“simple food good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

the location is not superb... being next to a  car park, but the decor inside is very modern, the food is good and dennis who looked after us was excellent! will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunar Cafe Knysna also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Rheenendal, Knysna
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Lunar Cafe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunar Cafe Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.