We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average cafe with poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lunar Cafe Knysna

Lunar Cafe Knysna
SHOP Z2-09 opp spar | KNYSNA MALL, Knysna, South Africa
044 382 0758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 115 restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We've created the perfect place for you to enjoy your brew, blended to perfection, the café is small and intimate, filling up quickly with a constant buzzing of coffee beans grinding away as wonderful aromas of espresso fill the air. Our grey tables are small and quaint with funky white designer chairs to offset the casual softness of our 80yr old Persian carpet which is proudly displayed in the center of triple volume space.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average cafe with poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited in Jan 2012 as part of a group of 6. 4 of us just ordered coffee whislt the other 2 ordered very basic brakfast meals (one of which was just toast). 45 minutes later we had still not received any food, when we inquired after our food we were curtly told that "its coming, we have just dealt with a big table" - no apologies. The food eventually arrived, again without any apology for the delay.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    11
    8
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Popped in for a quick lunch whilst on holiday and we were dismally disappointed. I was completely ignored on arrival and when I sat down at the table they pointed me to no one bothered to tell me I had to order at the counter. When I worked it out I stood at the counter for ages before a very grumpy woman told me she'd take our order at the table rather (I'd been in the restaurant for 20min by this point). She behaved like she was doing us a favour serving us in her restaurant with zero pleasantries or politeness. Our drinks and food arrived and the food, although attractively presented, was bland and boring.

Even though it was a convenient loction (hubby ran into the liquor store and spar whilst I was waiting to order and get our food) we'd rather grab a ready made sandwich at woolies next time!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nice coffee shop with pleasant staff - the cakes looked good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb cappuccino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great little place for coffee or light meals.
Simple menu - but served well and attentive staff.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Perfect location, close to backpackers with friendly owners and waiters!
Menu flexible for veggies and coffee is yum! They even have soya milk! :D
Comfy and cosy!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunar Cafe Knysna also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Lunar Cafe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunar Cafe Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.