We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Storms River and the Big Tree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park

Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park
Knysna, South Africa
(044) 302 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$392*
and up
4-Day Garden Route Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Guildford
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Storms River and the Big Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We only spent a short time in Tsitsikamma but it really is a beautiful area. Whilst my children were doing the Canopy Tour my husband and I went to see the Big Tree, which is close by. This is an ANCIENT yellowwood, absolutely huge, reached by a lovely little walk. You can extend the walk if you wish as well going further into the beautiful woodland - I'm sure we would have done had we had the time!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    99
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Anyone visiting South Africa should do the Garden Route. We did all three and it is breath taking. I highly recommend the Garden Route.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did the Otter Trail Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The views was breath takeing. Some crossings was really dangerous. Nearest to nature ever. Just loved every minunte.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Storms River Mouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Situated in a SAN Parks area it is a beautiful park to stay in. It has various Chalets to stay in and a limited caravan park. Day visitors also welcome. It has a restaurant and small shop. You can join groups to dive, snorkel, trails or walk on the suspension bridge.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice way to start our trip in Southern Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We self drove the garden route heading to route 62 from Knysna. The roads are great and the scenery nice too, although coming from New Zealand I think we are spoiled for coastal and mountain scenery here so we weren't completely blown away by the scenery. Food, accommodation and various attractions were all fabulous. Stopped off at the famous surf beach - Jeffreys bay and although not expecting it mid May saw a whale swimming by which was pretty cool. There's lots to do, especially around Knysna and Outdshoorn and we would have liked to have had a couple of nights at one or both of those places to fit more in under less time pressure. Hindsight is a wonderful thing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.