We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two happy travellers from Scotland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Villa Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added South Villa Guest House to your Saves list
South Villa Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Lower Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two happy travellers from Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My friend and I have recently spent 2 nights at this lovely establishment. I have to say the couple who run this place couldn't have been more helpful. We had travel problems due to a swallowed Bank Card' instead of arriving at 3.00pm we arrived at 3.00am! We phoned ahead expecting to have to find alternative arrangements to be told not a problem you call us as soon as you arrive in Knysna (we don't drive so were using public transport) and we will come and pick you up. The accomodation was very satisfactory, great location and all the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. I cannot rate this establishment high enough. We stayed in several really lovelly locations along the garden route but South Villa will always be a very memorable experience. We booked this accomodation from the internet and I encourage anyone reading this review to not hesitate to book in here you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
82
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I (29 and 31, both from London) stayed here in November whilst on the Garden Rote. We stayed 2 nights. We had spent the first 4 nights in the national parks of Storm River and Addo Elephant Park and it was therefore really welcome to arrive at such a beautiful guest house. I would recommend one of the front facing rooms. You also have the option of having breakfast (which was fantastic!) on the balcony overlooking the harbour. This guest house is truly value for money! The guest house is relatively new and I assume they are trying to build up their reputation so I would not be surprised if the prices were to increase when they become more established. There was also free wifi, which was very welcome. The attention to detail was superb for instance, there were apples in the room, robes which were sooooo soft and beach bags / towles in the wardrobes for you to use as you wish. All in all,I would definitely recommend. The owner, Marina was really helful, she made a restaurant booking for us (Sorroco - again would recommend) and was always really helpful answering our questions about what to do and where to go. We truly loved this guest house!!! .....dont miss out!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and i did the garden route as your honeymoon, where we spent two nights at South Villla. You always scared to book online because you never know what the place will be like..... well we really enjoyed our stay at South Villa. Its a stunning place and very friendy staff and hostess. When passing Knysna again this will be the place to stay. Of all the places we stayed during our honeymoon South Villa was tops!

Room Tip: We where in a standard room, and where very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were trying to think of anything that we didn't like about South Villa and we couldn't! I only hope that people don't miss it as it is slightly tucked away just as you enter Knysna. I hope that the fact it isn't right in the centre wouldn't put people off as it is only about a 15 minute walk into the centre or a short taxi ride away.

Our host greeted us and showed us around the spotless and beautifully presented guest house and she then made us some coffee to welcome us. She was also very helpful in booking us a taxi and with information about the area.

Our room was again spotless and had some lovely little touches. I requested a room with a view and my request was met with a beautiful view over the Knysna lagoon (although we did go out of season so I guess this would depend on availability). There is also lounge and dining room where you can eat, drink, watch dvd's or TV and relax.

We ate at the Olive Tree in Knysna which was excellent and returned to our room to find our electric blanket turned on to welcome us to a lovely warm bed :)

We selected breakfast from a menu sheet in the room and this was served to us at the requested time on our balcony (you can choose to have it in your room or in the dining room at a certain time). The breakfast was also lovely, freshly squeezed orange juice and perfect boiled eggs.

All in all this was a great stay and we would go back in a flash the next time we visit Knysna.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view and hopefully you would get the beautiful one that we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southvilla, Owner at South Villa Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Helen

Thank you for your kind words .we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed just one night in Knysna on our trip along the garden route, but our stay at the South Villa Guest House was excellent: confortable and extremely well-equipped room with heated beds and free internet access, very good breakfast and wonderful hosts with a particular attention to detail, beautiful view overlooking the bay. Very quiet street, we didn't have any concerns parking on the stret in front of the guest house.
We accepted the kind offer to leave our luggage at the guest house for the day while whale watching in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southvilla, Owner at South Villa Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again

Regards Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern cape
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I had a pleasant one night stay at South-Villa passing through Knysna on a recent business trip. My room was neat and clean with a view towards the lagoon and a nice breakfast was served by one of the staff on my balcony before I left the next morning. I'm always looking for an excuse to come back to Knysna so see you soon again! Thanks JP ps. and the minibar was good...

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 but they all have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

By Far the beat place To Stay All Around Garden Route - Knysna...Thank u So MuCh!!!For All...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Villa Guest House

Address: 22 Lower Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Villa Guest House situated in the tranquil suburb of Paradise, in the town of Knysna. All our rooms feature a private balcony overlooking the Knysna lagoon and Knysna Heads. South Villa is ideally positioned to take advantage of all major attractions in and around Knysna. All rooms are fitted with: TV with DVD, Fully stocked Minibar, Tea and coffee makers, Electronic Safes. Bathroom Amenities: Hair Dryers, Bathrobes & Beach Towels, Queen extra length size beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.