We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turbine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turbine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Turbine Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Original boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Turbine Boutique Hotel, built in an old power station, is original and unique in his style. The position is great, with amazing views of the canal. The service was perfect and we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    34
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
90
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Loved the originality with which the rooms have been put together, I like the design and modern/industrial decor make it uniquely different. One of the best allocations, next to the water.
Great location and great service. Breakfast buffet delicious with cooked to order options.
Beautiful and spacious rooms. Staff was excellent.
Also recommend some walks alongside the water.

Room Tip: Very best allocation, friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our stay at the hotel was great, the rooms are very cosy and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was great!
Loved the detail in the hotel and that they preserved the history of the building and the area. The rooms have a very welcoming feel and bathrooms are spacious. This hotel is great for anyone with a technical curiosity.

Room Tip: If choosing a standard room, we loved the room with the "red" decor inside, it compliments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have been in Turbine hotel a couples of night the next month, and It was a really nice stay.
Kind staff, lovely rooms and amazing breakfasts! The only disappoint point was the wi-fi. Free, it didn't work properly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Loved everything about the experience! The rooms were great with wonderful views of the canal. The breakfast was delicious with variety of options. The staff were excellent and could not have done more to make our stay memorable. Will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great service and a most fantastic staff !!!always pleasant and attentive carring .
Dinner was so elegantly presented and tasty . This is a untapped gem .....what a awersome evening .
Thanks To the management and great staff ..well done keep it up

Room Tip: Just talk you get more value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Sharkfeed
What can I say, other than Thank You so much for such a positive review. Hearing that the staff made your evening so pleasant and that the food complimented the service, makes me very proud. I will certainly pass on the very positive feedback.
Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arrived at the Turbine hotel and Spa tired from a few hectic days. The hotel is a novel idea. It is situated close to the water. Our room was beautiful, it was downstairs and had a front patio. We had a good variety on the menu, breakfast was delicious, always hot and the staff g rented us so well. They made us feel at home, asking us about our day out, advising us to dress warmly etc. My husband and I had a massage, it was really relaxing! Don't forget to roam the streets and enjoy the quaint shops. I picked up some good, handmade ceramic animals, which were for presents back home. Also recommend some walks alongside the water.
One criticism is that I wrote two cards, one to my 87 year old mum and another to a friend. My husband was told postage would be added to our account. At the last moment, just before we left, a staff member chased us, and asked for money for our two cards! All other mail has arrived, but our two cards from this hotel didn't make it. Very disappointing! But otherwise we enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear David W
Thank you so much for the very positive review that you gave us on Tripadvisor. The restaurant has gained a fine reputation for serving great food, paired with one of the more comprehensive wine list choices to compliment the food.
I am so happy to read that the staff also kept up the very high standards that we always strive for.
It was god to read that you managed to do a bit of exploring and discovered many of the little gems that make Knysna the very popular little town that it is.
I will look into the postcards. Really a strange one, as we post so many guests cards almost every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turbine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbine Hotel & Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Turbine Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turbine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turbine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.