We love staying in boutique hotels - for good reason! The decor is always different and stunning, the food is great, its not big and overly busy with other tourists and you get really great personal attention.
Our stay in this hotel was no different. We stayed in the Seahorse suite with lovely views all round. Our 8yr old son joined us on this trip and I would recommend if you do take kids with to rather book an extra room. The staff made sure he had a comfortable bed to sleep in BUT it made the room very small and crowded - we will most certianly make different arrangements next time.
I loved the small kitchenette in our room and we made use of great in room dining more than ones.
The spa in the hotel is worth a visit - I had a stunning facial - was fully booked for other treatments unfortunetly -make sure to make this well in advance before your stay.
The menus for all the meals are great, basic really good food very well prepared BUT the service was terrible, every single time with every single meal (we stayed 3 days). The hotel was not busy or full at all so there should have been no excuse for this slow service and long waiting periods for things as simple as drinks orders.
The slow service comment does NOT apply to the rest of the hotel staff. They were excelllent to wonderful. And put in extra effort for our son - this helped making the adult stay really nice.
Do yourself a favour and book a cruise on the hotel boat - forget about ALL the other commercial service providers (I have been on all of them more than once). The personal service and amazing trip organised by Johannes was the best R400 we've spend in a long time. Not only was he pleasant and knowledgeable on the Knysna lagoon, he was a good skilled skipper AND her arranged for our chilled wine and fresh oysters to be served on our cruise. It was phenominal.
Defenitely go for the luxury suite upgrade - worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed the boutique experience. We continue to strive to improve the consistency of our service in the restaurant, and I am disappointed that you didn't find a favourable experience when you were there.
Your glowing praise was passed on to Johannes and we do appreciate his positive and willing nature - he is a real asset.
Ernst and The Turbine Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.