We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel and Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turbine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turbine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Turbine Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knysna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Highly recommended by the locals for the excellence of the food. We were not disappointed, a great meal, reasonably priced and not overcharged for the wine. The conversion of the building from a wood fired power station into a smart hotel and restaurant is very interesting, clever and stylish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Adrian and Dee B

We are delighted whenever guests have a great experience with us, especially when they've been referred by others.

Our menu is constantly evolving and our latest offering is a bountiful seafood platter for two. We are striving for the Island Cafe to become one of the must-visit restaurants for visitors to Knysna.

Best wishes

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    43
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
107
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel in Febuary for the weekend.It is just amazing how they have built the Hotel around the old orignal power station. iT GIVES A GREAT FEELING OF THE PAST .Our room on the 1st floor looked out on tto the Heads and the lagoon, wonderful.
The room at the back have a small balcony and overlook the pool and canals of the island.
We enjoyed the peace and quietness of the Hotel.The Island Cafe serves breakfast and other meals, with tables in amongst the old TURBINES.
The tapas bar has some interesting food and cocktails.
A great HOTEL WITH OTHER RESTURANTS IN WALKING DISTANCE.

Room Tip: Front room for a view of the Lagoon, Backrooms overlookig the pool with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear OUTOFAFRICA_11

We are thrilled that you appreciate the historical aspect of The Turbine, as it played a key role in Knysna's rich past. It was a challenge to transform the space into a boutique hotel and retain the original elements, and all visitors will agree that we were able to do beyond expectation.

Our Island Cafe is proving to be one of the more popular dining venues in Knysna with locals and visitors alike, and we are fortunate to be in an excellent location on Thesen Islands.

Thank you for your review.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a fabulous place - a beautiful setting and fantastic staff. A more than 5 star experience - can't wait to go back. The service is outstanding and the rooms are wonderful and modern. No dusty carpets! I am not sure if all the rooms have views, but it is worth having a room with a view as its breathtaking. So many restuarants to walk to on the island. Such an innovate concept to reuse a power station and keep all the machinery!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view - its breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our wedding anniversary at this unusual yet amazing hotel for 2 nights and it was too beautiful. We received excellent service from the moment we (ok, hubby made the booking) made a booking to the day we checked out.

First we couldn't get over the idea of transforming an old power station into a hotel, what creativity! The location (Thesen Island), the view and the service excellence of the hotel staff (esp. Liesl Rentzke and General Manager, Ernst Ludick who made the occassion extra special for us), was the cherry on top.

What a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear MargorieM

Thank you for the review and we are proud we were able to spoil you for your anniversary. I have a feeling we'll be welcoming you back in future and look forward to seeing you then.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Turbine has managed to get their mix of excellent cuisine and service, together with service, brilliant ambiance and a quaint history of the original old power station, just right. A must to experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Elaine Schoeman

Thank you for the review. We hope to become known as the best boutique hotel in Knysna and the Garden Route, and aspire to put forward an excellent offering always. To that end, our front of house staff have all recently taken part in a comprehensive service revision course as we strive to lift our quality standards.

Warm regards

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but we're definitely going back! From the moment you walk into this hotel till the moment you depart you are experiencing something not many hotels can offer you and that is a part of history of the old powerhouse that is now this amazing hotel. Aside from the superb architectural experience the situation on the canals is fantastic, the service outstanding and the room amenities and quality beyond expectation. Anyone going to Knysna should not miss this experience and if you are not able to stay there then pay them a visit ....it's worth every minute and every cent.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area is one of the better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Turbine Hotel & Spa in Knysna in December for our honeymoon and were blown away by the excellence of their staff, their meals, drinks and accommodation. We have never before encountered such efficient staff / service. The employee of the month was especially good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Liezel & Jamin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Liezel L

We are proud that we were able to make your honeymoon such a memorable one. As with all of our reviews, we will share the comments amongst our team and I am sure they will all appreciate your compliments.

Wishing you and Jamin much married bliss

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turbine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbine Hotel & Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Turbine Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Turbine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turbine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.