We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turbine Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Turbine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turbine Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the life!!!
Staying in a luxary suite at the Turbine Hotel is an amazing experience!
Stunning views of the Knysna lagoon.
Exellent friendly service from the hotel staff.
Stunning 5 * meals in the Island Cafe!!

Do yourself a favour and definately stay for more than ne night!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Rene S

Thank you for posting a review and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Best regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
76
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Americus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a treat! We stayed at the Turbine Hotel and Spa with friends for one night on our recent tour of the Garden Route. We thought the whole comcept was delightful. The building was once the turbine that provided all the power to Thesen Island. The restoration has been well planned and the fact that many of the original fixtures have been kept is one of the really unique features of the place. The fact that no attempt to HIDE them was made but rather to accentuate them by painting them in numerous primary colors was really very bold. We loved the artworks on display throughout the hotel. Our room was large and opened onto, not one, but two patios. We had cocktails before dinner in their tapas bar and dined in the restaurant both that evening and the following morning. Everything was delicious, well prepared, beautifully presented. Our only criticism is that there were NO oysters on the menu. And Knysna is an "oyster capital". What a shame!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Even though we were there for only one night we were given lots of personal attention and we were wished a safe journey by the manager just before leaving in the morning. I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear GranBeba

Great that you enjoyed your stay, though it's a pity you weren't able to linger longer. I'm happy to let you know that we've added oysters to all of our menus, now. I think being resident here we take it for granted that oysters are always available!

Best wishes, and thank you again.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in The Turbine and was blown away by the transformation of the old power station. Looking at the photographs of what it looked like originally, one can only be impressed by the end result. Much of the original turbines and piping had been retained and everything planned around it. I love the modern, eclectic decor.

The food was great and I can say that the eggs benedict was the best I ever had. You can cycle all around the lagoon or navigate the canals on the island in a kayak, just looking at the different houses. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

Thiis was a unique experience for me and the treatment in the Spa was a true 'treat'.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with balcony from where it was a treat to sit and watch the birds (cormorants) d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Margaret K

Thank you for posting. Many guests tell us that the unique, quirky decor of our hotel is largely what makes us the best boutique hotel on Thesen Islands and in Knysna. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us.

Warm regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Could hardly call this hotel 5 star, at best a 4 star rating. We stayed in a "suite" which in reality is a very small basic standard room. The restaurant is worth a visit and the breakfast part of our deal was more than adequate.

Good location, would I return?? Probably not....there are other options in Knysna

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear cabsavie

Thank you for posting, though it is unfortunate you couldn't find more positives from your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed and would recommend our restaurant, The Island Cafe, however.

To clarify some points from your short review:
Our arrival drink for guests is a complimentary glass of port or sherry at the lobby, or a glass of iced tea as an alternative. In the Suites, we place complimentary bottled water for the first day, as well as additional complimentary water for each guest upon turndown every evening.

Our Suites (as we call our standard room category) are distinguished from our larger Luxury Suites by virtue of their size. Each room is individually-appointed, and the configurations differ as we work within the existing parameters of the layout of the old power station. You happened to be in what I consider one of our best Suites; it is the only one with it's own telescope and a beautiful secluded outdoor courtyard on the roof, perfect for romantic dining!

In any case, we look forward to welcoming you back for a meal when you are next in Knysna.

Sincerely

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having started life as a power station on Thesen Island - burning wood to generate power for the vilage - the Turbine Hotel offers a unque experience and superb food.

Its kitchen is capable, for instance, of producing the perfect Eggs Benedict for breakfast.

Most rooms have a stunning view of either the lake or the canals.

Service is unobtrusively excellent, staff members are friendly and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Bernard H

Thank you for your post and, yes, our power-station-turned-boutique-hotel is pretty unique! Great to hear, also, that you enjoyed the food at our Island Cafe; the Eggs Benedict are certainly one of our bestsellers!

Will pass your generous comments regarding the service to all of our personnel.

Warm regards

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a single travelling female , there are a few details I look for when travelling:
Luxury,cleanliness, relaxation,uniqueness and of course, safety.The turbine hotel fullfilled all of my expectations.The hotel uses a very clever mix of eclectic style with pieces of the old, historical power station, and does well to combine the two resulting in a very quaint environment but luxurious and modern at the same time.
The staff are very friendly and accomodating.The food is excellent.The rooms and hotel is impeccably clean.The room I stayed in was the Infinity room( all rooms seem to be individually named), it has a beautiful view of the skyline and marina.
The general manager was very friendly and suitably helpful in making suggestions as to the available surrounding activites.
The surrounding region is very peaceful and there are many small little shops and restaurants including a delightful bakery which one can visit.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: infinity room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear AGT637

Thank you for your positive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Turbine Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We are making great strides towards becoming Knysna and the Garden Route's best luxury accommodation offering, and hope we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back in future.

Best regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would just like to tell everybody want an amazing Hotel and Spa this is. Myself and my fiance were very lucky to spend the past weekend in the lap of luxury here being spoilt by the most attentive people you can imagine. From the sweet waitresses, Sweetness and Maria in the restaurant to the bubbly concierge Angus. To everybody, Connie, Angus, Vanessa, Michael, Sweetness, Maria and last but not least Ernest. Thank you all for the incredible weekend. Monique and Ollie Room 105 :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turbine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbine Hotel & Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Turbine Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Turbine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turbine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.