We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillview Self-Catering Apartments

Save Saved
You added Hillview Self-Catering Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillview Self-Catering Apartments
8 League St, Knysna, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very good & quite spacious apartment; close to downtown & all activities. Friendly owner. We could see view only from the living area & not the balcony. Kitchen was clean and overall the the place was very quiet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a nice apartment! So bright, clean and comfortable. From the living room we had a great view over Knysna. It is at walking distance from the city, although you need strong legs for the way back. We enjoyed the possibility to cook our own meals.
Definitely stay here when visiting Knysna!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Hillview as part of our honeymoon whilst in Knysna. The accommodation itself was very reasonably priced, with secure parking and a small pool. We had room 5 which has stunning views of the Knysna Heads. The room had a semi open bathroom (the loo was separate and the bath behind a screen), TV in the bedroom, great kitchen area and then a large red leather sofa in front of the large (almost - bar the radiator) floor to ceiling windows. On the windows, I'm not sure if the room would be suitable in the depths of winter (although I note that the other commenters were fine) or for longer periods. Whilst Hillview was great for a night or three, the quality of the finish i.e. singe glazing windows wouldn't merit 5 stars for a week long stay, but maybe double glazing is a British thing?

We had decided we wanted to use the braai rather than eat out - my only comments for improvement would be that Hillview failed to provide any of the store cupboard basics which we found in other self catering apartments. It did provide tea and coffee but it would have been great to have some other non fancy basics such as salt and pepper, oil and some braai bricks/matches.

We did head down to the Waterfront the next day for a bite to eat before moving on and wasn't impressed at all - I think you would be much better staying on the hill overlooking the heads where Hillview is located. The Waterfront is very touristy and a bit tacky.

Hillview recommended the East Head Café (see separate review) which was great for breakfast before walking to the Heads themselves.

Room Tip: Room 5 - its worth the extra few Rand. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found it tricky to select a place to stay in Knysna and Hillview did not disappoint. Safe parking, a wonderful view, clean apartment, smoothly run - what more could you hope for.

Its a fair walk (down a steep hill, which meant up on the way back) into town, but its the price you pay for a clear view (and we enjoyed stretching our legs!). For a town with much on offer (and I suspect a lot of inflated prices) this one's a safe bet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only had one night to enjoy this B & B on the way to Addo but wish we had more time. The units were wonderful, particularly in view of the very reasonable price. We rented three units and they were all lovely. Although we didn't prepare any meals, the units appeared to have all the utensils required including BBQ/Braai. Incredible value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best value for money we had during our vacation in South Africa. We have stayed at the Hillview on March of 2013 and booked two apartments. Both apartments were immaculate and fully functional and the kitchens were fully equipped to cook a complete meal. The surrounding was quiet and relaxing with a small beautiful pool. Karen the owner was amazing. She helped us with all that we needed including useful travel tips and discounts to the sunset cruise. Had I returned there I would book again at the same place without considering twice. Above all, the price was affordable and reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great accomodation!
We also booked the cottage, wich was clean, modern interior design, a patio opening up to the swimming pool, great shower, living area....

All the staff members were professional and friendly.

We didnt stayed in a room with seaview, but we saw how wonderful the room and view was.

You might expect this kind of apartment to be quite expensive but it is a steal.
All I can say is, if you're going to Knysna, this is where you should stay.

Down the road a good laundry: 60 rand for a bag!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room next door to the swimmingpool. So no stairs for us, but if you dont mind: take r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillview Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Self-Catering Apartments

Address: 8 League St, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing time out in our beautiful Knysna will see you rejuvenated and refreshed. Come and re-charge a little. We have the ideal place. Consider it your own private apartment, a getaway from your daily routine. Always ready. Affordable, great for any time of the year. Long or short stay. Explore the Garden Route. Read, take a walk on the beach, along the lagoon or in the forest. Bring your mountain bike or canoe. Go shopping, horse-riding, fishing, hiking. Sit. Relax. Talk. Hillview is close to many great restaurants.. Your apartment with Dstv, free wi-fi, swimming pool, braai area, private entrance, secured off-street parking, percale linen and your apartment serviced on request. Star graded for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hillview Self-Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillview Self-Catering Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.