We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Head Cafe

East Head Cafe
25 George Rex Drive, The Heads, Knysna, South Africa
+27 44 384 0933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 124 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great cafe with delicious food in a great setting - sit on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Knysna Heads. Only open for breakfast and lunch from 08h00 to 15h30.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beyond the call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After an excellent breakfast here, my wife and I continued on our journey only to discover later that I had mislaid a camera lens. We called East Heads and received incredible service from them as they tried to track down my lens for me. It later transpired that I had not left it there - but be that as it may, this kind of service is most unusual in our busy world!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    178
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We loved East Head Cafe - in the end went there every day when we were in Knysna for coffee and/or a snack. A great location, good quality food and attentive and friendly service. Thank you

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice bistro with lovely beach-cottage style decoration. Everyone in our party enjoyed the excellent breakfast, very good coffee and bubbly. Attentive and charming service. Beautiful view. Kids corner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Knysna's Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Jerome has that very special magic touch in the way he runs East Head Cafe. The place is spotless, bright and airy. The staff couldn't be better. Their menu beautifully balanced and they are proud enough of their local suppliers to mention them on the menu too. Great attention is paid to detail to create this eatery as the best in Knysna

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely lazy lunch at East Head Cafe with some of our family and we were very impressed with the slick service and the quality of the food. The waitress had a great knowledge of the menu and was confident to recommend choices to us. One person in our party has an iodine allergy and the Manageress, Dierdre, handled the matter personally to ensure that the food choice and the method of preparation would be suitable for them.

Overall great value for money and a yummy menu with many locally sourced food choices. We will be back as often as we can, that's a promise!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Head Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to East Head Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Head Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.