We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Catcher - CLOSED

The Oyster Catcher
Knysna Quays, Knysna 6570, South Africa
044 382 9995
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

24 Large oysters, a bottle of Cap classic bubbly, a great view and good company. This is what life is all about.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    18
    11
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Oysters Like you have never had them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

we consumed bucket loads, along with good wine. service was not so great, but the atmosphere and oysters made up for it.
it was chucking it down with rain outside, but we had live music in the background and it was great. good place for perhaps snack, aperitif or sundowners.
we had both the Farmed and wild oysters, not sure which i preferred, so i will just have to go back and try again. seems the locals were enjoying the music, with some even dancing on the table.
these people farm their own and supply a lot of the restaurants in town as well as some as far away as Cape Town -
this place is what it is, a rustic bayside oyster shack, dont expect a full service restaurant and you will enjoy yourself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
“NO TIPS FOR WAITERS,OWNER KEEPS 10% SERVICE FEE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I agree, food good, service excellent, but I was shocked to find when my waiter at the end of our wonderful visit to THE OYSTER CATCHER recently shared with me, that the 10% service fee, which is so well advertised around the restaurant, do not get to them!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“extremely disapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

how very disapointing.. after hearing good reports I can only say I will never go back... we waited 20 minutes to have our drinks and food order taken, and then only because I asked for some service... the drinks took a further 10 minutes to arrive and then there was one short.... we ordered Oysters and prawns... by the time two tables who got there after us received their prawns I asked where our order was, only to be told that the kitchen was busy and our food would be out in 5 min... 10 minutes later I advised them that if we did not have it in 5 minutes we would be leaving... eventually it arrived.. I do not know what the oysters were like but the prawns were the worst, most tastless I have had in ages... not to mention not cleaned properly... THEN THEY HAD THE CHECK TO ADD SURCHARGE....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great venue on the Knysna waterfront with lots of atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

It is some time since we'd visited The Oyster Catcher which is located at the far end of the Knysna Waterfront and what a pleasant surprise! The atmosphere was great with warm & friendly service and good quality seafood. The oysters were good but there are lots of other choices if you don't fancy eating oysters. The view is amazing and perfect for watching the sun go down over the Lagoon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Catcher also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Catcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.