We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna Herons - U guyz rock!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Herons Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Herons Guest House to your Saves list
Knysna Herons Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Knysna Herons - U guyz rock!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are a family of four and found this to be a lovely child friendly environment with all the comforts of a "home"! The rooms were immaculate and the host/owner is awsum being very hospitable and a wealth of knowledge. The staff is friendly and helpful, caring for my vegetarian diet too! My kids loved it and they dote on Frederick! The festive season was made all the more special jus by our staying at this great guesthouse! We will definitely recommend this to our family and friends and we ourselves will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MADSADSSASD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed two nights and spent most of the time enjoying Knysna surroundings and the lagoon
The service was very good and our room was clean.
We liked best the uncomplicated way to get in and out and what we missed in our self catering room was always available from the friendly staff. What we liked least was the noisy shower which I am sure Frederic has fixed already.
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant Frederic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The guest house was neat and cute. Have a sweet balconie out side the room. Free relax to have a glass of wine at there. Nice services recived during the stay. we will stop there for second time. ^_^.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed one night at Knysna and it was just what we were hoping it would be. Beautiful home, perfect location and the owner is the best. Made us feel right at home even though it was such a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfy rooms, very clean, Fredrick is a very nice host, good wifi Internet if you require it, close to the good beach on leisure island. But for town you need to get a taxi really it's a longish walk. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pleasant and secure location, and a welcoming host in Frederick. We were three in a 'family room', but the accommodation was cramped and the third bed was a Z-bed. The room really needed A/C, as we only had a small fan which was not up to the job. The bathroom was very small, and the shower was not brilliant: its head needs renewing! Some confusion also about breakfast: we booked it, but were told it was unavailable - although Frederick did give us coffee and juice gratis. All just a tad tired, we felt....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You need a car for this place as its a bit away from things but worth it. Nice little car park at the back if driving as we are. Apparently we had the worst room in the guest house but found it perfectly good. Comfy bed and pillows, quite thought the day if you are around and big open bar area upstairs.
Breakfast was good, pumpkin seed bread was a nice touch. The cooked breakfast was okay and there were lots of teas as options.
I went for a run from the guest house around leisure island which is a perfect early morning run too.
Would I stay here again? Yes. Fredrick the host is very friendly and made us very welcome on our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Herons Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.