We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and leisure at Herons Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Herons Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Herons Guest House to your Saves list
Knysna Herons Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Pretoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peace and leisure at Herons Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My stay of 5 days was perfect. The hospitality, kindness and excellent facilities are unbeatable. At Herons Guest House you immediately feel at home; the area is peaceful and quiet, the rooms are neat and modern furnished, the bathrooms are convenient and spacious and the breakfasts are superb! Thanks for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Every room is special; you have a choice of B&B or Self Catering rooms. Every room/unit has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our stay at Heron's Guest House was an unforgettable experience. The staff went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and the amenities were comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middenbeemster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Lovely guest house to visit. The owner is friendly and really made it a nice place to stay for a few days. The breakfast was good, also the rooms were nice. And eventhough you do not have the feeling that it is chirstmas, Frederic and his lovely decorations make you feel that it is christmas. It is a place to where you feel at home when you are far away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and couldn't have asked for a friendlier welcome and service from Frederick. I would recommend the Hoopoe room, it is at the back of the house with a lovely balcony where you can relax in the lush garden planting. The location is great to whip into town or go to the heads for the most fantastic views. There is a lounge on the top floor where you can relax and enjoy free wifi and watch TV if you want. The lovely music selection had me paging through old magazines and feeling at home. Definitely recommended for short stays.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Excellent service from Frederick and staff. Tranquil settings. Breakfast was good. Frederick would make us feel like we were at home. Really thankful for him going out of his way to provide us with halaal meals. He had no problem seeing to 18 runners and cater for all of us. Well done to Frederick and staff. Keep up the good work and everything of the very best for the furture. We will definitely be back next year. From• Salie & Shanaaz Price & Ommiedraai Friends Athletic Club.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A group of us travelled to Knysna for the annual Forest Marathon. The hospitality offered by Robert at the Heron Guest House began before we arrived.

Robert greeted us warmly despite us arriving two hours later than expected. He made us feel welcomed and comfortable. He even arranged flowers and chocolates to be in one couples room as a surprise (they were celebrating an anniversary).

He recommended activities and restaurants and made relevant bookings for us.
We were also running the marathon very early in the morning, but he still arranged a 4am breakfast for those of us wanting early sustenance.

After the run, friends hobbled over to visit us and he offered them hospitality too, providing them with post-run advice and something for their cramping legs.

Basically, nothing was too much trouble and even my guests have already made plans to return to this guest house for the Pink Lourie festival.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Owner at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
We at Knysna Herons will do anything to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and have a stress and worry free vacation, We will always go the extra mile to satisfy each and everyone of our guests or the guests the bring along to view our home, We are home away from home with the added luxury of having to satisfy your every whim. Thank you for your review and we do look forward to seen you all over your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and one self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Herons Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.