We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abalone Lodges to your Saves list
Abalone Lodges
20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 days at the Abalone Lodges for Christmas and New Year. It was hot and air conditioning would have been a bonus but the location made up for that. We were in #1 - the view was great and the facilities more than enough. The kitchen is a bit small but then you're so close to everything, you can pop out for supper or stock up the fridge with quick meals. We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday in Knysna.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights here for our honeymoon! Rooms are not ridiculously big so if you plan to also do activities and not to only spend all day in your room this is truly a great place to stay! Spa bath is incredible- and all day access to barbecue and swimming pool facilities. Safe, friendly and very clean. Breakfasts delivered daily and well worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in a semi detached lodge. Found the lodge to be clean, neat and well presented. All supplies for self catering available.
Loved the balcony, spent the majority of my time there reading, snacking, dozing etc...

The cottage is somewhat snug so would not recommend to anyone who needs lots of space.

Spa bath was excellent. Pool area nice as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wish I had paid attention to the all the reviews, not just the positive ones, before I booked so I could have at least gotten my expectations in line with reality. We stayed at Abalone lodges for one night on a road trip in November. It felt quite cramped and the room was boiling hot when we arrived in the afternoon since it faced the sun and the curtains had not been closed. The safe slammed shut after the lightest of touches. (There should be some kind of mechanism to keep it more securely open when not used.) The bathroom was quite nice with a spa bath in it and I do like the overall look of the lodges with their warm log cabin interior. My main complaint is that it felt cramped on the in- and outside and the lodges themselves are situated close together and in such a way that there is no real privacy if you want to go into the garden. The bed was comfortable enough. I didn't see air conditioning. I would definitely advise any prospective traveller to check into that if you are going during the hot summer months.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was the cheapest accommodation of our trip to SA and was the most cramped. The semi detached chalets are quite small but adequate and have a balcony with stunning views. This was the only place where we were bothered by mosquito on our trip, but think that would be a problem anywhere in Knysna at this time of the year. There is no wi-fi but we were told that when booking. Not bad location and easy to find, cheap and cheerful would be how I would sum this place up.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel with a very nice outdoor seating area and a great BBQ area, the rooms are also nice and cozy and great hosts. One should go to storms river national park for a full day which is not very far from the hotel (about 7 KMs)

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very cold and a very small wall mounted heater does the injustice for the cold night in Knysna. We were also not impressed given what we saw on the Internet. We had to book an alternative accomodation in order to enjoy our stay. I would definitely not recommend this lodge to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalone Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.