We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A freezing experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abalone Lodges to your Saves list
Abalone Lodges
20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Perugia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A freezing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Abalone Lodge, and our first impression was really good: very nice and cozy place, very clean, everything new in the bathroom. Everything super if it wasn't the coldest place I've ever slept in!!!!! It was deep winter, so pretty cold outside, and we had the same temeprature inside: we could barely change our clothes without teeth-chattering, and the heating had benn working the whole night! Maybe we had been especially unlucky, but our neighbours had the same problem, so I wouldn't come back there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have stayed there 3 times already and just love it! Clean, cosy with everything you need!Close to town...we often enjoy a walk into town in the morning! Love the bath...love the view...will definately be back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in February 2012. All I can say is what an amazing place. When the staff found out it was our honeymoon, they immediately went and got the room ready together with flowers, petals on bed and bath, chocolates and juice. Each room has a jacuzzi bath and the rooms are perfectly decorated. We had family with us, and they stayed on an extra night they enjoyed it so much. This is a must if travelling to Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-Willows
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The lodges are beautiful and very well appointed. We stayed in a one storey lodge which was spacious and very comfortable. They are conveniently located for exploring Knysna and the surrounding areas, without being too close to the bustle of the town. The highlights are the balcony which offers STUNNING views of the lagoon, particulalry at sunset, the jacuzzi bath and a very comfortable bed. The one down side, are the cooking facilities in the lodge. They are meant to be self catering, and a small meal can be russled up, but if you are looking to cook anything big, you might struggle. Having said that, I would recommend the lodges!

Room Tip: All the lodges are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were in one of the 2-storey lodges so I can't rate the single-storey ones which looked a LOT smaller and would not have suited us at all. The 2 storey lodge had a little parking niche underneath, so you go upstairs to the living room with a huge window towards southwest and a brilliant view over the lagoon and a bit away the waterfront of Knysna. The lower storey consisted of a living room an open kitchen and a little bathroom with a shower. Upstairs is the bedroom (btw really good beds), a really nice bathroom with simple jacuzzy bathtub, separate toilet, a little balcony and a wardrobe.

The kitchen was well equipped with fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave and electric kettle, dishes, pots, everything. There are 2 heaters (1 up- one downstairs) for cooler days and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was nothing missing that I could think of. It was a tiny bit clairaudient downstairs which never bothered us as it was overall very quiet and upstairs you didn't hear a thing - OK, except the Ibis birds at 6 am! ;-)
We spent 6 wonderful nights there and I can definitely recommend it if you like to stay in a quiet area with phantastic views and lots of space.

Room Tip: Book the 2 storey lodge - a LOT bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Upon arrival there was no-one available at Reception to greet us and after some 10 minutes we located a member of staff who handed us our key and a welcome letter with minimum conversation or interaction. The log cabins are well equipped for basic self catering and clean with stunning views over the lagoon however they are unbearably hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan is not sufficient to ventilate the room and at night you need to leave all the windows open to get some air. There is a very nice small pool / decking area with 6 sun loungers but two of these were broken during our visit and no attempt was made to replace or repair them. To the rear of the log cabins there is a block of residential apartments which does not make for peace and tranquillity. The fence bordering a neighbouring property was missing and a dog could be heard barking early morning. There was animal faeces in the garden near the braai area which was not removed for the duration of our stay. This was the least favourite of all our accommodation throughout our 3 weeks in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Abalone Lodges for 4 nights in the first week of January 2012.

The place was neat and tidy, check-in was quick and everything was as expected.

The view from the balcony (all rooms have great views) was beautiful.

The bathroom was clean and the rooms were tidied daily.

The kitchen had nearly everything needed for quick meals and braaing. There were however no steak knives and the two knives provided were not very sharp. In addition to this even though a mattress was provided for a child there were no extra crockery for our 3 year old daughter.

We also encountered a problem with neighbourhood kids. 2 or 3 boys (about 7 - 10 years old) to be more specific were roaming around the property with their dog and being a nuisance. As there are no security on the property it seems that there's very easy access to for anyone and everyone so keep your things stored away. Our braai utensil (our own, brought from home) went missing.

Another petty incident is that I discovered that my shower gel (not supermarket brand) was missing after being out for a few hours. Why anyone would steal my shower gel, heaven only knows.

All in all, it was a lovely few days spent in Knysna and at Abalone Lodges.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalone Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.