We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Knysna favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Restaurant

JJ's Restaurant
Knysna Waterfront | PO Box 3130, Knysna 6570, South Africa
044 382 3359
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 124 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
“A Knysna favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

No Knysna visit is complete without a dinner at JJs. It is packed and noisy, with frequent tour groups, and not the place for 'diner a deux!'

Go with friends however, accept the slow pace of the service, enjoy pretty good food and the staff singing show later in the evening, stay late and enjoy a glass of Justine's port, and it turns out to be a great evening. Do not miss, when you visit Knysna.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    144
    57
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good meal, good service, good staff singing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

You,ll get a good meal here in a really pleasant waterfront environment. The patron is charming, the service good and the food well cooked. The singing waiters (sorry, waitrons) top it all off.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Were lucky to get a table as hadn't booked but wanted to eat early.The fillet steak was the best I had ever eaten, brilliant prices for food and wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been here before and loved the "piggies", scallops wrapped in bacon. On this occasion we waited so long for them we could have left. The manager said they had run out and we would have to wait 15 minutes. Three requests later at 15 minute intervals, at each one of which the waiter said it would be 2 minutes, after a whole hour we finally got our starter which was very good. Our mains of fish curry arrived quickly but it tasted and looked as if it had been in the pan for a couple of hours. The only redeeming factor was that they reduced our bill by R180 without being asked! Don't think I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Mass catering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

JJ'S is a large waterfront restaurant catering mainly for the large tour groups staying at the adjacent hotel. Very noisy, very busy, very average mass catering type food. I should have re-read my previous review which noted not worth returning . One of a number of similar eateries on the waterfront

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Restaurant also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to JJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.