We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier is what it is . Excellent .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Hotel Knysna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Hotel Knysna to your Saves list
Premier Hotel Knysna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Rex Drive | PO Box 109, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Hout Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Premier is what it is . Excellent .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is located on the banks of the Knysna estuary and just outside of town . It is a haven for bird life and great to walk in the area . The hotel itself is modern clean and run by a very friendly professional staff who go out of there way to ensure a comfortable stay . Modern rooms are large and well equipped and I would upgrade to a suite . Pay the money ! Dining was fast and efficient both at breakfast and at dinner and staff again very professional . The head chef Martin was on hand and visible even during breakfast service . There is a inexpensive taxi service that you can take into town if you want to do the tourist attractions or rather laze around the hotels large pool and relax with a couple of bottles of wine and 24 beers . Excellent hotel staff and rooms . Highly recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your group at Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings while enjoying your tour of the Garden Route.

Your comments are most encouraging and will be conveyed to the staff.

Yours in hospitality


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
61
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hot bread for breakfast served personally by the chef and lovely new bedrooms.-Nothing was too much trouble for the cook or reception staff in this beautiful,clean and spacious hotel set in lovely gardens with a large pristine swimming pool.. My large room had its own kitchen and lounge area and also a shared balcony and connecting door to the next bedroom so it would be ideal for families.All of the food was delicious but the enormous included breakfast was enough to last until dinner.We were staying with a Travelsphere Tour from the UK and we were pleased to be away from the busy waterfront hotels.The Featherbed Nature Reserve nearby was a really beautiful excursion and the entire area was stunning. As the guide quipped it's nice here na?

Room Tip: Everyone on our trip of over 40 people was pleased with this hotel! We loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the Garden Route.

Yours in Hospitality

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a tour group. It seemed bit out of the way but that did not bother us as we had trips planned for the time we were there which meant the tour bus picked us up at the hotel. Rooms were large and included a sitting room, kitchen and bedroom with access to a patio with table and chairs. Nice walks within the grounds and good views of the surrounding lake.
Breakfast and dinner varied choice and enjoyable. Service was friendly and prompt.
Swimming pool large and clean with sun loungers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip advisor.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your tour group at our hotel.
Your positive comments are most encouraging and I will certainly share them with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to South Africa.


Kind Regards

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

There is very little in the immediate locale so the hotel is the focus of your stay. There is a pool and some nice walks along the beach. In my view a strangely designed hotel in many ways. The reception leads to the dining room and then to the corridors which lead to the rooms. The rooms are clean, well presented and well serviced. We had a suite with a lounge and bedroom. The bedroom was just a little too small and the lounge a little too large. This reflects the hotel as a whole. The proportions and design just do not work somehow. There are some nice touches but in general the architecture has no sensitivity to the people using it. Too much emphasis on style and not enough on usability. The result is that it doesn't feel cosy and welcoming.

We stayed two nights and had a buffet dinner each night in the restaurant. Everyone staying there seemed to be having the same. The staff were attentive if a little slow at times and not quite on the mark. Whilst the cooking was acceptable, it was nothing special and could have been better and the choice of dishes was limited. The breakfast did have a good selection but eggs cooked to order were painfully slow for everyone. It was just OK and I cannot say the experience was bad but I would nevertheless be reluctant to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, we were upgraded, so we had a large room, with a kitchen and sitting area, which was great.
there were not so many people in the hotel, so it feels like we are on our own at breakfast.
the pool area is nice if you have time for that.
the only negative thing I can say is the wi fi, you only get 30 mins, which is annoying, but beside that, it is really worth the money you pay, and the staff is really nice...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on trip advisor.
I am pleased to read of the contentment you experienced whilst holidaying at the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings.

We strive to enhance our service delivery in all aspects so therefore your comment and suggestions regarding the WIFI is noted.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Premier Hotel Knysna on your next visit to the Garden Route.


Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and stayed in a suite overlooking the pool. The suite was huge with a large balcony, a very comfortable living space, a kitchen (minus cooking equipment and crockery/utensils) however, facilities are there if you need them. The location really suited us, with excellent parking facilities and good security. The hotel, pool and our suite was kept very clean, the decor was nice and modern, so was enjoyable to stay there.
The bar staff were brilliant, very attentive and good fun. I had the best cocktails there. However, the breakfast was a very different experience, which was a shame, as the food was nice with plenty of choice but trying to find a glass or cutlery was like gold dust and to get someone's attention was very difficult, getting quite frustrating by the end of our stay. Also the wifi was only free for the first 30 minutes for our whole stay, when was advertised as free wifi when booking.
Overall was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although we stayed for one night and would have enjoyed an extra night we enyoyed our stay. We had a suite on the ground floor overlooking the gardens and the pool. The patio was large with comfortable furniture, so that we could enjoy our morning coffee. The breakfast that was served was the only downside of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna

Address: George Rex Drive | PO Box 109, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to idyllic natural surroundings in the Western Cape. This hotel offers the traveller luxury accommodation with up-market furnishings and the lifestyle conveniences of a modern home. With air-conditioning, secure off-street parking, business and conference facilities, restaurant and swimming pool, Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings will surpass all your needs, whether it's for business or pleasure. The hotel is situated on the secluded banks of the Knysna Lagoon. The area offers an abundance of outdoor leisure activities such as fishing, swimming, boating or bird watching while Knysna is only minutes away where guests can enjoy a wide variety of shopping malls, restaurants, pubs and historical attractions. The Hotel offers a range of luxury waterfront accommodation from 23 Studio suites, 19 one-bedroom suites and 6 two-bedroom suites. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, select DSTV bouquet and telephones. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Hotel Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.