We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Hotel Knysna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Hotel Knysna to your Saves list
Premier Hotel Knysna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Rex Drive | PO Box 109, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our stay here was absolutely great, from the day we arrived to the day we left. The food and service were great.
Already booked for 2014, but go0nna take whole family this time.
Regards Gideon and Sue van Zyl.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are the best and you have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs van Zyl

Thank you for your lovely comment. I am so pleased to read that you will be joining us for your annual vacation once again.
We look forward to meeting the rest of the family this year. 


Kind Regards

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
39
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

On Arriving at The Premier Hotel Knysna, we were met with a smile by an exceptionally friendly Alvira. Check in was quick and efficient, and the porter was called to assist us with our luggage. Upon getting to our room, we found Alvira exiting the room – she went there to quickly to check that everything was in order while we got our bags. I found this to be a very nice touch. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. My husband appreciated that his request for flower petals and chocolates was so well executed. We also appreciated the bottle of non alcoholic sparking juice we found chilled in the room – this was especially thoughtful since we don’t drink alcohol.
Breakfast in the hotel though, was average at best – not what is expected from a four star hotel. Tired after a long day of travelling, we went to the Salmon restaurant to order supper. An hour later, after nothing was served to us, we asked for it to be brought to our room. 90 minutes after we had ordered, the food was brought up to the room. The spring rolls were burnt on the ends, falling apart & soggy in the middle & a horrible shade of brown. This was totally unacceptable. The portion for the pasta I ordered was small - as in a kid's meal. I was greatly disappointed at the food as I had expected more from a four star establishment & had planned to have all my meals at the hotel. I however found myself having meals everywhere else in Knysna. At breakfast one morning, we found that the hotel had run out of fabric napkins & some tables had paper napkins- even though we arrived at 09h00 – an hour before service was supposed to conclude. The buffet table was also very untidy, with many platters empty. The cheese plate was daily a dried out mess.
The cups on our table hadn't been washed properly, & when we informed the waitress, she went to another table, wiped the insides of other cups with her fingers, & brought them to us. Once again, unacceptable. My husband asked for a tiny piece of ginger to put in his tea as he had a sore throat, but the kitchen had none - how does a kitchen have no fresh ginger when they claim to cook all meals with fresh ingredients?? The tea that was served to us had clearly been brewing for a very long time as it had a foul taste. Red tobasco was also impossible to find as the kitchen had only one bottle and when that was finished, there was none left.
Check out was easy, although I was loath to pay for the horrible supper we had on the night we arrived. Throughout the stay, Alvira was friendly, always asking after us whenever we walked into the hotel, always ready with a broad smile. That lady is a real gem and should be recognised as such.
Although the hotel is well situated, clean, comfortable and with a friendly, helpful staff, the restaurant was a real let down. I love a good hotel breakfast, and for this reason, I will not easily return to The Premier Hotel, as I feel for the price I paid for the accommodation, there are much better options in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.
I will most certainly pass your comments onto Alvira as I am so pleased at the manner in which she took care of you.

I will however most certainly look into the challenges and frustrations you were faced with whilst making use of the restaurant facility in our hotel.
Please accept my deepest apologies in this regard as management was not made aware of our short comings whilst you were in house.

Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were part of a small group visiting the Garden Route and stayed two nights at this fabulous hotel.
Check in was swift and our luggage arrived in minutes. Our room - or should I say - apartment was amazing. A lounge area with comfortable sofa , wide screen TV , a dining area with modern table and chairs ,A kitchen area with microwave, fridge freezer, dish washer etc .Fantastic. Then through to the bedroom with beautiful bedding and a oh so comfortable bed and another wide screen wall mounted TV.Plenty of wardrobe space .Quiet ,so a good nights sleep is guaranteed .The modern bathroom was spacious with a fantastic shower.

The whole apartment opened out on to an enormous balcony with table and chairs for outside dining overlooking the pool. We could have stayed here longer.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and a beautiful garden. Comfortable sitting areas inside and a modern dining area. The buffet was excellent, too !!! Lots of good fresh food and a chef to carve some very good meats. Breakfast is abundant - everything for a good start to the day.
This was one of the best hotels on our tour and all credit to Esther and all the staff who made our stay in South Africa memorable. If you are visiting the Featherbed Nature Reserve this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem comfortable.Ours was upper floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings. Your kind words of appreciation are most encouraging and I will be sure to share them with my management team and staff.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

After one dreadful night's sleep at another hotel near the N2 road, the owner kindly recommended this place to us. It is unlikely you would normally come across it, being on the road to The Heads. We were told to ask for Esther (sure she'll remember us!), and were given a 1 bed suite for a great rate inc breakfast. We were at the back, with not the best views in the place (the sports ground with floodlights every night), but slept really well, which was our goal. Immaculate furnishings, but a little strange with full kitchen inc appliances, which aren't connected! No cutlery or crockery. Turns out these were going to be self catering units, then someone changed their mind. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, can't rate them highly enough. Stayed 4 nts & hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: Probably nicer to overlook the pool. Townhouses by lagoon are very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is well situated for visiting Featherbed Nature Reserve.
The bedroom we had was large and part of a suite so we had the lounge, kitchen area as well, with views from the balcony over the swimming pool and gardens. The food was good but the dinning room arrangements were rather caotic. We were with a group and thought we would have a table reserved for us. Some of the American parties had this arrangement but they didn't do this for us. Meal times were a bit a scramble looking for a table. We had to wait quite a long time on both evenings for them to clear us a table.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as we traveled through the Garden district of south africa. The hotel is clean, modern and functions easily up there with the big 5 star hotels. There are a number of things making this hotel special...the rooms are large, well equipped with a fridge, mini kitchen, extra sink and face the inner courtyard and pool. There is a small park like garden attached to the property with birds, owls, picnic tables, etc. Brandon the manager, gave us an early morning tour. The restaurant was top notch! Our waiter Pardon went out of his way to make us feel welcome and with his excellent service, we had a great meal! Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of eggs to order, fresh fruit, bacon, meats, yogurts, pastries etc. The view behind the garden was of the waterway and it was so tranquil. We would have loved to have spent more time here. It is a great place to take in the Featherbed Ferry. This is a gem...don't pass it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your group at our hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed the early morning walk. We did not get to see the owls but an abundance of other bird species were gracing us with their presence that day.


Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel ticks all the correct boxes and is a great hotel. Above average food, friendly and efficient staff. Ester is the star of this hotel. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. It is a modern style hotel and the grounds with an excellent pool are a nice place to relax. Best rooms look on to the pool but some at the back have lovely garden views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna

Address: George Rex Drive | PO Box 109, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to idyllic natural surroundings in the Western Cape. This hotel offers the traveller luxury accommodation with up-market furnishings and the lifestyle conveniences of a modern home. With air-conditioning, secure off-street parking, business and conference facilities, restaurant and swimming pool, Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings will surpass all your needs, whether it's for business or pleasure. The hotel is situated on the secluded banks of the Knysna Lagoon. The area offers an abundance of outdoor leisure activities such as fishing, swimming, boating or bird watching while Knysna is only minutes away where guests can enjoy a wide variety of shopping malls, restaurants, pubs and historical attractions. The Hotel offers a range of luxury waterfront accommodation from 23 Studio suites, 19 one-bedroom suites and 6 two-bedroom suites. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, select DSTV bouquet and telephones. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Hotel Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.