We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip with amazing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings to your Saves list
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Rex Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing trip with amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for a three night stay at the Premier Hotel - The Moorings in Knysna and travelled down on Wednesday, 29 Aug. On the flight down, I jokingly mentioned to my husband that if it was a dump, we would have to just grin and bear it.

We arrived and realised that we weren't going to have bear anything - the staff are ultra friendly and helpful, the walk to our room was through a tropical garden passageway, the suite we stayed in was huge and beautifully decorated with masses of cupboards and had a massive bed which was very comfortable. The suite has two big flat screen televisions (one in the sitting room area and one in the bedroom). I could not stop grinning, but because I was so pleasantly surprised.

We were there in their off season, which meant we pretty much had the hotel to ourselves for the first 2 nights, with more guests arriving on our last day. Even though the hotel was quiet, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, without ever intruding on our "quiet" time.

The Salmon Restaurant serves delicious food (room service food was hot when it arrived) and the breakfasts are well appointed (although there was no sign of the continental buffet on the first two mornings, when we were the only guests there - which we felt was understandable).

All in all, we fell in love with both Knysna and our hotel and cannot wait to return. I have heard that Knysna can get pretty hectic during the peak season, but for us our little mini break was just perfect and we will definitely return to the area, and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anixa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A lovely spacious hotel. We stayed in the deluxe bedroom which was well equipped and comfortable. The hotel has lots of amenities, and the hallway to the rooms had a beautiful rain forest feel.
The service was very good. We had to leave early (at 4am) to catch a flight and the service we received was amazing. The manager initially tried to get us a place closer to our destination (in view of the time) however, in the busy season it was difficult hence they arranged for an early checkout and also packed us a huge breakfast.
Location wise - its a 5-10 minute drive to the main harbor in town or the viewpoints on the eastern head.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinmond, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our visit to the Premier Hotel Knysna.

While on honeymoon and looking for a good place to have dinner in Knysna, we came across this hotel. My wife and I was very delighted to find the Premier Hotel Knysna perfectly suited for an out of this world dinner.

I want to thank the General Manager and staff for making our short but sweet visit an absolutely unforgettable experience. And with a special thanks to our friendly waitron, Charles.

Kind Regards

Wikus & Grethe Conradie

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of Constance, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in this 4star hotel on a weekend (friday to saturday) for one night mid of March 2012. Shortly after check-in at 04:00 p.m. we were told that there was a water pipe burst in George Rex Drive and hence there was no water at all at our room (not even to flush the toilet). So we had to leave for dinner without having the opportunity to freshen up a little. When we returned to the hotel at 10:00 p.m. we were told that the pipe burst was fixed. However, there was still no water at all at our room. So I had to run around with the night portier till 10:45 p.m. until we found a room on the ground floor that had running water; finally we ended up in moving from our top floor room to a room on the ground floor.This was lot of fun late at night after a nice evening in Knysna. As there was only one more couple in the hotel and regarding that the hotel management was unable to accomodate their guests appropriately, they should have closed the hotel for this night and book their guests to another hotel.

The next morning (saturday) there was a meeting of a ladies club in the breakfast restaurant. There was a breakfast buffet that was open to the four(!) hotel guests as well as for the ladies. When I lined up at the buffet with a couple of ladies I was invited by one of the ladies to help myself at the buffet, which was included in my rack rate - how bizarre.

At check-out the front desk manager insisted on payment of the full rack rate, which I - of course - refused. So she called the hotel manager who was very unfriendly, had no understanding at all and was not co-operative. When I told him that they were unable to handle the pipe burst and, as it was a 4star hotel, I would have expected that they book their four guests to another hotel, he answered that Knysna in total was concerned by the pipe burst. However, this was not true. At the restaurant in Knysna, where we had dinner, they did not even know that there was a pipe burst at George Rex Drive.

After having argued for a couple of minutes the hotel manager reduced the rack rate by 25% with a sore face and without any excuse for the inconvenience we had. The rack rate reduction did not help us much further, this was the least the hotel management could do - and our stay was spoilt anyway.

It is my imression that there is still a lot to learn for the hotel management on what is standard in the hotel business and how to handle customers. I would not come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herrmann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDvir, Social Media at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Premier Hotel Knysna The Moorings regrets any inconvenience caused as a result of the water interruptions due to maintenance being undertaken by the Knysna municipality on a damaged pipe. All arriving guests were advised of the situation thereby affording them the opportunity to make alternative arrangements should they have deemed fit. Unfortunately, and unforeseeably, when the water was restored, an airlock happened in the reticulation system. We pride ourselves on our impeccable levels of service, and the overall quality of our facility. We learn from our shortcomings, and will cease at little to deliver upon our vision, "Where Guests become Friends".

Mr Chris Duncan
General Manager of Premier Hotel Knysna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A little disapointed with the quality of this hotel. The location does not permit you to see the lagoon. The rooms are not bad, but expected better. Breakfast was average as well was service generally. I think that there are much better options in Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything was outstanding to the finest detail. Special thanks to Esther and her team. They treated us like royalty!! See you soon

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pentza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As with any review, it is all relative, i base the below on what is expected of a 4star hotel and other 4star options in knysna (The Lofts and The Turbine - both great hotels)

1. Upon check in they had the dates wrong
2. Unless you ask theydo not offer or advise that there is someone to assist with your bags. They adviseyouwhere to park and give direction to the room. My cousin had 2 little kids with them and no assistance was given.
3. Grass arnd the pool are full of those flowers that attract bees. This problem is easily solved by planting better quality grass or cutting it at least twice a week. My wife got stung by a bee and upon asking reseption for assistance there was noyhing provided in the form of a first aid kit.
4. The hotel is located in avery damp area, and the lower rooms seem to be shut for long periods of time and the dampness builds up in the rooms.
5. Coffee cups still had the 'rim' of the previous cups of coffee on it.
6. In thehotel book theyadvise that for 'shoe polish' 'please contact reseption' , 30min prior to a weddingi contacted reseption in regards to getting shoes cleaned and they at first advised that they do not offer this service, i advised that it says in the book that the do and then i was provided with a shoe mit.
7.after booking 3 rooms over a period of 3 days and hanging arnd the dining area and pool area for the majority of the time and seeing the manager prob pass us and 15 times over 3 days we failed to get so much as an 'hello' or god forbid a 'how is your stay' from this chap, it felt like he was doing us a favour by letting us stay there.
This is my 2cents - there are many better hottels in knysna based on quality, service, and uniqueness....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saffer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
136.4 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Address: George Rex Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing