We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna Belle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Knysna Belle

Save Saved
You added The Knysna Belle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Knysna Belle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
Grandson, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Knysna Belle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The house is located in a very quiet place on Leisure Island, very close to the center of Knysna. No noise around apart the birds. The place is amazing, close to the lagoon with a small beach. The B&B have kayaks and bicycles to allow more visiting experiences. The personnel is friendly and there is a big living room with games and books. Our rooms were clean, large and nice. The breakfast was really good and well prepared. Both Jo and Gillianne were helpful and could give us good advice for dining and visiting.

Room Tip: Nautilus room is superb, with view on the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 kids (aged 8 and 10) stayed here in October 2013. This is a beautiful property in an excellent location with great facilities. The service and food were superb and the views amazing. Our two boys loved the ability to help themselves to the mountain bikes and kayaks in the garage. The Leisure Isle is a very safe and relaxing location and this waterfront property makes the best of what the location has to offer. Hope to be back again some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful relaxing 2 day stay. We stayed in Annie Benn which looks onto the pool & garden. Christopher and Gillianne were very friendly & helpful. Great breakfasts. We loved the fresh fruit & hot home baked muffins. The house overlooks the lagoon. Kayaks & bikes are available at no cost for the guests to use. The electric blanket is my favourite to warms up the bed. Comfy flop in sofas in the lounge which looks onto the lagoon plus a real fireplace. I was almost disappointed that we had such great weather. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talybont, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family from Dubai Cape town and the UK stayed here for two nights on our journey around the coast the setting is outstanding and the views from the balcony magical. All three generations in the party were really impressed by the way they were catered for from the canoes on the waterside for the younger set and the bikes for the tours of Leisure isle, the convivial settings for evening get-togethers were perfect and the delicious morning breakfasts set us up for the day ahead. Chris and Gillian were great hosts and made our stay here one of the highlights of a very memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is our second stay at The Knysna Belle and once again we had a wonderful time. It does not feel like you are at a B&B but rather at the home of good friends. Our room was lovely and the view from the lounge is so pretty you are tempted to spend all your time indoors. Everyone was super efficient and helpful and made an effort to make us feel welcome. Breakfast at the pool was yummy - the poached eggs were perfect! The wine selection was also impressive and on the cold June evening the sherry was a wonderful treat. Gilliane and Christopher were amazing - I even got some home decorating ideas from Christopher (my new style guru). We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the peaceful Knysna Belle on Leisure Isle Knysna. The peninsular is a lovely place with a small beach, pleasant walks and stunning views of the heads. The property is a relaxing place with a beautiful garden and lounge. It was so nice to sit in the garden for an excellent breakfast (especially the scrambled eggs which were the best we have ever eaten!).
Gilliane and Christopher looked after us very well. This is a good base to visit Storms river, Plettenberg bay and Wilderness.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The property is stunning, our room - Emu (just to the left of the front door - with its own large balcony and stunning views towards the sea was comfortable and spacious.

A good breakfast was served at the back of the property overlooking the pool with tables laid out for each room. Guests would arrive for breakfast and quietly sit at their individual tables. Unlike other places we stayed at during this trip, where guests all sat together at long tables, thus encouraging conversations to start - not to everyone's taste, but a good way to meet other travellers and hear of their trips.

Christopher and Gillian were very pleasant. They and the remaining staff work on behalf of the owners of the property and leave each evening. One morning I saw a member of staff wash our car after we had parked under some berry trees - nice touch!

The location of the property, on Leisure Island in the centre of Knysna Lagoon ensures a quiet and restful stay. The property is also a short distance to a number of stunning golf courses, including Pezula and Simola, both of which are fantastic to play on.

One small thing improvement would have been slightly better knowledge of the surrounding area and attractions to ensure that we made the most our our visit.

Make sure you get up early and do what the locals do and walk round the island, or go to the west side and enjoy a stroll through the nature reserve. Also worth a short trip to Knysna Head for a great view. We also ventured to Brenton on Sea - the drive provides great views back to Knysna. Not a huge amount there, but great views.

Room Tip: Book direct and choose a room that is front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Knysna Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knysna Belle

Address: 75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knysna Belle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Belle Guest House offers a relaxing atmosphere with Bollard beach just a few paces from our front door where guests can relax and enjoy the tranquility of island life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Knysna Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knysna Belle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.